Skip to main content

People

We have a well-established interdisciplinary team supported by an International Scientific Board.

Director

Professor Rossi Setchi

Professor Rossi Setchi

Professor of High-Value Manufacturing

Email
setchi@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5720

Co-directors

Professor Stuart Allen

Professor Stuart Allen

Head of School, Computer Science and Informatics

Email
allensm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6070

Academic staff

Dr Abdullah Alhusin Alkhdur

Dr Abdullah Alhusin Alkhdur

Senior Project Officer

Email
alhusinalkhdurag@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
07376172470
Paul Allen

Paul Allen

Digital Media Producer

Email
allenph@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6583
Samuelson Atiba

Samuelson Atiba

Research Assistant

Email
atibas@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Pete Burnap

Professor Pete Burnap

Professor of Data Science & Cybersecurity

Email
p.burnap@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6249
Dr Martin Caminada

Dr Martin Caminada

Lecturer

Email
caminadam@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0109
Dr Junshen Chen

Dr Junshen Chen

Project Officer

Email
chenj113@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4902
Dr Emily Collins

Dr Emily Collins

Lecturer

Email
collinse6@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)2920 870 716
Professor John Culling

Professor John Culling

Email
cullingj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4556
Maryam Banitalebi Dehkordi

Maryam Banitalebi Dehkordi

Research Associate

Email
banitalebidehkordim@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 2385
Dr Nervo Verdezoto Dias

Dr Nervo Verdezoto Dias

Senior Lecturer

Email
verdezotodiasn@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 1735
Dr Parisa Eslambolchilar

Dr Parisa Eslambolchilar

Reader

Email
eslambolchilarp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9346
Dr Daniel Finnegan

Dr Daniel Finnegan

Senior Lecturer

Email
finnegand@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6890
Dr Sarah Gerson

Dr Sarah Gerson

Senior Lecturer

Email
gersons@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0480
Sandy Gould

Sandy Gould

Senior Lecturer

Email
goulds@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Jacques Grange

Dr Jacques Grange

Lecturer (Human Factors)

Email
grangeja@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
available upon request
Dr Matthias Gruber

Dr Matthias Gruber

Principal Research Fellow

Email
gruberm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0079
Dr Yulia Hicks

Dr Yulia Hicks

Senior Lecturer - Teaching and Research

Email
hicksya@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5945
Professor Rob Honey

Professor Rob Honey

Professor

Email
honey@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5868
Dr Ze Ji

Dr Ze Ji

Senior lecturer
Teaching and research

Email
jiz1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0017
Dr Catherine Jones

Dr Catherine Jones

Reader and Director of WARC

Email
jonescr10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0684
Professor Yukun Lai

Professor Yukun Lai

Director of Research

Email
laiy4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6353
Professor HaiJiang Li

Professor HaiJiang Li

Professor - Chair in BIM for Smart Engineering

Email
lih@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5133
Dr Federico Liberatore

Dr Federico Liberatore

Lecturer in Data & Knowledge Engineering

Email
liberatoref@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Hantao Liu

Dr Hantao Liu

Director of International
Reader

Email
liuh35@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+442920876557
Professor Ying Liu

Professor Ying Liu

Professor in Intelligent Manufacturing

Email
liuy81@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4696
Dr Candice Morey

Dr Candice Morey

Reader

Email
moreyc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5375
Professor Phil Morgan

Professor Phil Morgan

Professor, IROHMS Director of Research

Email
morganphil@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0784
Dr Marco Palombo

Dr Marco Palombo

Senior Lecturer

Email
palombom@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0385
Dr Charith Perera

Dr Charith Perera

Reader

Email
pererac@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0987
Professor Omer Rana

Professor Omer Rana

College Dean of International
Professor of Performance Engineering

Email
ranaof@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5542
Professor Simon K Rushton

Professor Simon K Rushton

Email
rushtonsk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0086
Dr Michael Ryan

Dr Michael Ryan

Lecturer

Email
ryanm6@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4070
Dr Justin Savage

Dr Justin Savage

Lecturer

Email
savagejc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5225
Professor Emiliano Spezi

Professor Emiliano Spezi

Professor of Healthcare Engineering
Director of Research

Email
espezi@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6521
Dr Katarzyna Stawarz

Dr Katarzyna Stawarz

Lecturer

Email
stawarzk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0037
Dr Liam Turner

Dr Liam Turner

Senior Lecturer

Email
turnerl9@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0011
Dr Jing Wu

Dr Jing Wu

Lecturer

Email
wuj11@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)2920 688810
Dr Kensuke Yokoi

Dr Kensuke Yokoi

Senior Lecturer

Email
yokoik@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+442920870844
Dr Abolfazl Zaraki

Dr Abolfazl Zaraki

Lecturer

Email
zarakia@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0) 29 2087 4278
Dr Han Xing Zhu

Dr Han Xing Zhu

Reader

Email
zhuh3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4824
Dr Alexia Zoumpoulaki

Dr Alexia Zoumpoulaki

Lecturer

Email
zoumpoulakia@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0052

International sub-committee

Dr Hantao Liu

Dr Hantao Liu

Director of International
Reader

Email
liuh35@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+442920876557
Dr Kensuke Yokoi

Dr Kensuke Yokoi

Senior Lecturer

Email
yokoik@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+442920870844
Dr Qiyuan Zhang

Dr Qiyuan Zhang

Lecturer in Human Factors

Email
zhangq47@cardiff.ac.uk

International Scientific Board

We are supported by an International Scientific Board (ISB) chaired by Professor Robert Deaves, system architect at Dyson and RAEng visiting professor of robotics at Imperial College, London. All ISB members are leading experts in their fields and based at some of the top universities in the world (or industrialists with academic credentials obtained at such institutions), invited on the basis of their ability to advise and influence research and innovation investments, supporting our aspirations.

The International Scientific Board consists of the following members:

Professor Rob Deaves

Professor Rob Deaves

Dyson UK and chair of the International Scientific Board

Professor Anna Cox

Professor Anna Cox

University College London

Professor Tom Gedeon

Optus Professor Tom Gedeon

Director, Optus Centre for AI, Curtin University

Professor George Q Huang

Professor George Q Huang

University of Hong Kong

Professor Anthony Pipe

Professor Anthony Pipe

UWE Bristol

Professor Ah-Hwee Tan

Professor Ah-Hwee Tan

Singapore Management University

PGR Students

alt

Iryna Bernyk

Research student

Email
bernyki@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0) 74 2640 9977
No profile image

Laura Bishop

Research student

Email
bishoplm2@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Andrew Bolton

Research student

Louise Bowen

Louise Bowen

Research student

Email
bowenl7@cardiff.ac.uk
Phil Butler

Phil Butler

Research student

Email
butlerpc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)7513377707
No profile image

Ryan Gamble

Research student

Email
gambler@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Yan Gao

Research student

Email
gaoy74@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

John Hannay

Research student

No profile image

Hein Htike

Research student

Email
htikeh@cardiff.ac.uk
alt

Vasilis Ieropoulos

Research student

alt

Arsalan Lambay

Research student

Email
lambaya@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)77 4191 4759
No profile image

Jianxun Lou

Research student

Email
louj2@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Feiqiang Lin

Research student

Tianyuan Liu

Tianyuan Liu

Research student

Email
liut33@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Yueran Ma

Research student

Carly McGregor

Carly McGregor

Research student

Email
mcgregorc1@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Eoin Sands

Research student

Email
sandse@cardiff.ac.uk
No profile image

Yan Shan Tai

Research student

Email
taiy3@cardiff.ac.uk
Nicola Turner

Nicola Turner

Research student

Email
turnernj2@cardiff.ac.uk
alt

Sanyam Vyas

Research student

Email
vyass3@cardiff.ac.uk
alt

Jialu Yang

Research student

Email
yangj51@cardiff.ac.uk
alt

Xintong Yang

Research student

Email
yangx66@cardiff.ac.uk