Skip to main content

Award-winning writers

Image of a lady resting her face on folded hands and looking away from the camera
Gillian Clarke

Gillian Clarke

BA 1958, Hon 1984

Gillian is one of Wales' most influential and widely read contemporary writers. In 2008, she became the third National Poet of Wales. In 2010, she was awarded the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry. Her book "Ice" was shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize in 2012. She received an Honorary Fellowship from the University in 1984.

Image of a man wearing glass and hat
Photo by Warren Orchard

Tim Price

BA 2001

Tim is a playwright and scriptwriter.

He won the inaugural £10,000 James Tait Black Prize for Drama at the 2013 Edinburgh Festival for his play "The Radicalisation of Bradley Manning".

His other works include "Teh Internet is a Serious Business" and "Protest Song", which were staged at the Royal Court Theatre and the National Theatre, respectively.

Black-and-white image of woman with chin-length hair.

Siân Preece

MA 2010

Siân's short story "Getting Up" won first prize in Academi's 2009 Rhys Davies Short Story Competition. She was also a finalist in the 1999 Macallan’s Short Story competition. Her work has been widely anthologised and her stories and drama are broadcast regularly on Radio Four. She has also produced columns and reviews for Scottish newspapers, BBC radio and television.

Image of a woman with long hair standing in front of a wall with 'Costa Book Awards' displayed in red letters.

Joanne Meek

MA 2013

Joanne won third place in the 2014 Costa Short Story Awards with "Jellyfish", the story of a woman who returns with her children to the coast that she once called home.

"Jellyfish" formed part of her dissertation for the MA in Creative Writing.

Image of a woman with dark hair sitting in a library

Susmita Bhattacharya

MA 2007

Susmita is a poet and short story writer. Her work has appeared in various publications, including Wasafiri, Penguin Unplugged, and The View from Here.

Her short story "Summer of Learning" was broadcast on BBC Radio 4. In 2009, she won both the Sulekha Short Story Prize and the Plymouth City Council Poetry Prize.

Professor Bernard Henry Knight CBE (MBBCh 1954, PhD 1964)

Author of the "Crowner John" series.

John Rickards (BEng 1999)

Author of the "Alex Rourke" series.