Skip to main content

Honorary Fellows

We award Honorary Fellowships to those who have achieved international distinction in their field.

2023 Honorary Fellows

Professor Peter Katjavivi

A man dressed in a graduation gown and bonnet poses for the camera
Professor Peter Katjavivi

Professor Peter Katjavivi is a Namibian politician currently serving as a Member of Parliament and Speaker of the National Assembly of Namibia.

Professor Stuart Palmer

Two men smile and pose for the camera
Professor Stuart Palmer and Professor Colin Riordan, Ex Vice Chancellor

Professor Stuart Palmer is a physicist whose research has involved the use of lasers, ultrasound, and magnetism to address challenges in industry and medicine.

Professor Karen Holford

Two people in graduation gowns pose for the camera
Professor Karen Holford CBE and Patrick Younge, Chair of Council

Professor Karen Holford (Eng 1984, PhD 1987) is Chief Executive and Vice-Chancellor at Cranfield University. Her engineering career spans industry and academia, beginning at Rolls-Royce as an undergraduate before gaining her degree and PhD at Cardiff University.

Rhodri Talfan Davies

Two men dressed in graduation gowns pose for the camera
Rhodri Talfan Davies and Professor Damian Walford Davies, Deputy Vice Chancellor

Rhodri Talfan Davies’s media career began in 1992 with the Western Mail newspaper after studying journalism at Cardiff University. In 1993, he joined the BBC as a trainee and spent the next eight years reporting and producing in England. Now the BBC Director of Nations, Rhodri leads the broadcaster’s work serving nations and local audiences across Wales, England, Scotland, and Northern Ireland.

Beverley Humphreys MBE

A woman dressed in a graduation gown and bonnet poses for the camera
Beverley Humphreys MBE

Beverley Humphreys’ (BA 1968) career spans the Welsh National Opera, concert appearances, and one-woman shows, crossing the boundaries from opera and musical theatre to jazz and comedy. The Cardiff University alumna has toured with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and frequently leads Sunday Worship and Prayer for the Day on BBC Radio 4.

Nneka Akudolu KC

A woman poses for a photograph in graduation gown and bonnet whilst holding a scroll
Nneka Akudolu KC

Nneka Akudolu (LLB 2001, PgDip 2002) is one of only seven Black female King’s Counsel in the UK. Sworn in as a Silk in 2022, she specialises in criminal law, prosecuting and defending clients in the most serious cases in the Crown and Appellate courts.

Elis James

A man wearing a graduation gown and bonnet poses for the camera
Elis James

Elis James (BScEcon 2002, MA 2005) is a stand-up comedian and broadcaster. An avid sports fan, Elis co-hosts Fantasy Football League on Sky with Matt Lucas, the Socially Distant Sports Bar with Mike Bubbins and Steff Garrero, the Feast of Football for BBC Radio Wales, and Football Weekly for The Guardian.

Dr Nina Zhang

A woman dressed in graduation gown and bonnet poses for the camera
Dr Nina Zhang

Nina Zhang (MSc 2005, PhD 2011) is the Executive Vice President, Managing Director, and Head of Citi China Commercial Bank. Based in Shanghai, she is responsible for all Citi Commercial Bank businesses and operations in China. Prior to this, Nina was Head of Risk for Citi China Commercial Bank, where she oversaw risk management of commercial bank portfolios in China.