Skip to content

Doctors and dentists named BEST in Wales

24 April 2015

stage to show Wales Deanery awards

Welsh doctors have been honoured by Cardiff University's Wales Deanery at an event hosted by the British Medical Association (BMA) in Cardiff's Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama.

The successful nominees were rewarded with accolades for their excellence in training the next generation of medical and dental professionals across Wales.

All Welsh doctors and dentists in training were asked to nominate a consultant, GP, dentist or staff and associate specialty grade doctor, who they believed performed outstandingly. 

The following healthcare professionals were named BEST trainers of the year 2014:  Mr Owen Hughes; Urology Consultant at UHW, Dr Julie Keely; GP at Brecon Medical Group Practice, Dr Anand Ganesan; a specialty doctor in psychiatry and Dr Dennis Barnes; specialty doctor in Anaesthetics and Intensive Care in Morriston/Singleton Hospitals.

Dr Phil Matthews was presented with the Dean's Recognition Award for his services to Medical Education.  Dr Phil Matthews is currently a Sub Dean, Head of the GP Specialty Training School and Foundation Reconfiguration Lead for The Wales Deanery. He has also been a partner in The Gower Medical Practice since 1988.

Professor Derek Gallen, Postgraduate Dean at the Wales Deanery, said: "The Wales Deanery is particularly proud to have developed the BEST awards in recognition of the high standards of medical and dental education in Wales. Once again the standards have been very high and reflect the time and commitment from those doctors and dentists at the forefront of training and education. The BEST awards are a fitting celebration for all those nominated by their trainees for the time and effort they put into the role."

Dr Owen Hughes said: 'I'm very fortunate. We have got some great facilities in Wales and some very good individual teachers. I'm lucky to have been nominated by my trainees, who I have learnt a lot from. Despite my thinning hair, they keep me feeling young.'

Dr Julie Keely said: "It is a humbling experience to be acknowledged for my good fortune that my career and a passion come together and I get to teach and learn twice".

Dr Anand Ganesan said: "simple ideas pursued with Commitment, Enthusiasm and Professionalism leads to Innovation, attitudinal change and better performing doctors, who improve patient care and ultimately the NHS."

Dr Dennis Barnes commented: "I feel humbled to be the winner of BEST Clinical Service Innovation Award 2014; I am encouraged to work even harder in my field. Thanks to the Wales Deanery for this award."

The awards are part of the 'Supervising the Route to Excellence' programme which aims to ensure excellence in medical training through the development and support of high quality educational, clinical supervisors and trainers throughout Wales.

The annual BEST awards are now part of the BMA/BMJ Clinical Teacher of the Year Awards, which is a collaboration between Cardiff Medical School, Swansea Medical School and the Wales Deanery.

The four winners of the award also received a Medical Education Bursary worth £3,000.

The strategic aim of the Wales Deanery is to commission, quality manage and support the education and training of trainees, hospital doctors, GPs, dentists and DCPs in Wales.

Share this story