Skip to main content

Finalists for AOP 2018 Award made up of entirely Cardiff University graduates

9 October 2017


The finalists for this year’s Association of Optometrists (AOP) Newly-qualified Optometrist of the Year award have been narrowed down to three optometrists, Luke Allen, Marcus Slater and Jasmine Smith,  who are all graduates of the School of Optometry and Vision Sciences at Cardiff University.

The AOP Awards celebrate extraordinary talent and outstanding contributions from across the profession and the Newly-qualified Optometrist of the Year award will go to an optometrist who has ‘launched themselves into the early years of their career with gusto’. The panel will look for a practitioner who has gone above and beyond their day job, and is able to demonstrate a keen interest in the profession in its wider context.

Each of the finalists completed our BSc Optometry degree in varying years and Dr Kat Evans, Senior Lecturer at the School said “it is greatly commendable to have one graduate as a finalist in these prestigious awards, but to have three graduates as finalists is a fantastic achievement and demonstrates the high calibre of our graduates”.

The AOP Awards event will take place on 28 January 2018, during the 100% Optical trade event in London.

Share this story

Our new MOptom programmes provide you with the scientific and clinical knowledge to register as an optometrist with the General Optical Council.