Skip to main content

Class of 2017 honoured in graduation ceremony and reception

27 July 2017

Graduation 2017

The School of Law and Politics held its 2017 Graduation ceremony on 17 July 2017 at St David’s Hall, Cardiff.

Approximately 900 people were invited to the ceremony which was followed by a post-graduation reception in the grounds of the University’s Main Building. Guests enjoyed champagne and strawberries while they mingled with staff and celebrated students’ achievements.

Head of School Professor René Lindstädt welcomed the guests to Cardiff and congratulated all graduands for their hard work during the years that they had studied at the School.

Following his speech, Professor Lindstädt went on to present a number of prizes to students who had been recognised within a variety of areas. They were as follows:

Law prizes
Aka Onwuazor Prize
Aman Nath

Cecil Fifoot – Contract
Aman Nath

Ecclesiastical Law Society Prize
David Horne

Cecil Fifoot – Tort
Chon Thong
Sophie Rudd

Margery Hardwicke Prize for Land Law
Chon Thong

Alan and Cyril Body Educational Trust Prize
Saxon Norgard
Josephine Hebestreit

Eversheds Prize in Company Law
Katie Shankland

Geldards Prize
Jack Pankhurst

Family Law Prize
Isabelle Cam
Kate Williams

Oxford University Press Law Prize
Connie Edwards

Eversheds Prize in Trusts
Foong Yee

Thomson Reuters Law Prize
George Collins

Cardiff Law School Prize
George Collins

Deighton Pierce Glynn Prize
George Collins

Politics prizes
The John Cross Prize
Joel Haley

Best Dissertation Prize
Louisa Idel
Charlotte Weatherill
Myfanwy Mainwaring-Smith

Best Second Year Performance
Matthew Congreve

We hope all students and their family members enjoyed our celebrations and we wish the graduating class of 2017 the very best for the future.

Share this story