Skip to main content

Nanoscience: A celebration

5 June 2017

Prize winners at the first Nanoscience: A celebration conference
Prize winners at the first Nanoscience: A celebration conference

Two PhD students from the School of Chemistry have successfully hosted their first conference on 23rd May 2017.

Josh Davies and Lee Edwards organised the first multidisciplinary “Nanoscience: A celebration” conference at Cardiff University’s Main Building. The conference covered topics across chemistry, physics, engineering and biosciences with more than 60 attendees.

Four keynote speeches were given by Professor Mike Bowker (Cardiff University), Professor Toby Jenkins (University of Bath), Dr Duncan Casey (University of Bristol) and Dr Jenna Bowen (Cotton-Mouton Diagnostics). Throughout the day, there were also five presentations from PhD students spanning topics from magnetic nanowires to ultrasonic traps for tissue engineering. Following the presentations, a poster presentations with sixteen entries was held in the VJ Gallery. Dr Fiona Robinson of Cogent Power presented the cash prizes for the best speaker and Josh Davies presented the award for best poster.

The conference was sponsored by Cardiff Doctoral Academy, Cogent Power and The Royal Society of Chemistry. The organisers would like to thank everyone who helped to make the event possible, including the sponsors, supervisors and all of those that took part.

Share this story