Skip to main content

School hosts 16th annual Cardiff Chemistry Conference

17 May 2017

Prize winners at the 16th Cardiff Chemistry Conference
Prize winners at the 16th Cardiff Chemistry Conference

The 16th annual Cardiff Chemistry Conference took place on 15th and 16th May 2017 at Cardiff University.

The conference is a global forum for scientists to present their chemical research and showcase the latest developments in the field. Previous speakers at the conference have included Nobel Laureates, which reflects the high calibre of speakers attending and supporting this event from across the world of chemistry.

Activities at this year’s conference covered a broad spectrum of chemistry subjects and explored the intersections between chemistry and other disciplines. Lecture topics included conformational behaviour during enzyme catalysis, exploiting single-molecule spectroscopy to study amyloid aggregation, atomic-scale insights into energy materials, microfluidics for next generation chemistry and biology, and how chirality in coordination clusters might help us understand our world.

Speakers at the event included high-level academics from across the UK, Germany and Switzerland: Professor Saiful Islam from the University of Bath, Professor David Klenerman representing the University of Cambridge, Professor Andrew de Mello from ETH Zürich, Switzerland, and Professor Annie Powell from Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany.

In addition, the conference provided PhD students and postdoctoral researchers from the School of Chemistry with the opportunity to present their work through lectures and poster sessions to an audience of eminent and global experts in their fields. Lectures were also held to showcase the research achievements of our early career academic staff.

The Glib Meleshko Memorial prize for the Best Research Lecture by a PhD Student was awarded to Robert Hughes (Supervisor: Rudolf Allemann). The School Prize for Best Poster was won by Ben Woods (Supervisor: Angela Casini), with Lara Groves (Supervisor: Simon Pope) in second, and Luke Parker (Supervisor: Graham Hutchings) in third place.

The Cardiff Chemistry Conference was sponsored by the Royal Society of Chemistry, Radleys, Carbosynth, and Tokyo Chemical Industry UK Ltd.

Share this story