Skip to main content

School scoops University prize

22 November 2016

School staff receive the award
Jo Marshall-Stevens (left) received the award from Jayne Dowden

The School of Journalism, Media and Cultural Studies has won the accolade ‘School of the Year’ at Cardiff University’s annual Celebrating Excellence Awards 2016.

Award winners were recognised at a special ceremony for their exceptional efforts and for their willingness and ability to go above and beyond the call of duty for the University.

Top spot for the School of Journalism, Media and Cultural Studies (JOMEC) acknowledged its status as one of the leading journalism and media research centres in the world. A series of notable achievements over recent years includes:

  • 2nd in the UK Government’s assessment of research quality (REF 2014)
  • 89% of research classed as either ‘world-leading’ or ‘internationally excellent’ (REF 2014)
  • 100% score for research impact (REF 2014)
  • 98% overall satisfaction rating (National Student Survey 2015)
  • 1st place in successive years for Journalism and Public Relations league tables (Guardian 2016 and 2017)

Professor Stuart Allan, Head of School, said: “My colleagues and I, together with our students, are truly delighted to receive this recognition from our University peers.

“At a time when we are revisiting familiar assumptions about the world – following the recent UK referendum result, Trump’s victory in the US election, and when the Oxford University Dictionary chooses ‘post-truth’ as word of the year for 2016 – the challenge to reinvigorate and improve the quality of journalism and media education has never been greater.

“In JOMEC we are up for the challenge, emboldened in no small part by being situated within such a remarkable University as Cardiff University, with so many inspiring Schools committed to excellence.”

Pictured above, from left: Dr Caitriona Noonan (School Lecturer), Jo Marshall-Stevens (School Manager), Jayne Dowden (Chief Operating Officer) and Professor Stuart Allan (Head of School).

Share this story

For more information about our research, courses and staff visit our School website.