Skip to main content

BEST doctors and dentists in Wales announced

2 May 2013

Four Welsh doctors and a dentist have recently been honoured by Cardiff University's School of Postgraduate Medical and Dental Education (Wales Deanery), at an event hosted by the British Medical Association recently in Cardiff's Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama.

The successful nominees were rewarded with accolades for their excellence in training the next generation of medical professionals across Wales. All Welsh doctors and dentists in training were asked to nominate a consultant, GP, dentist or staff and associate specialty grade doctor, who they believed performed outstandingly.

The following healthcare professionals were named BEST trainers of the year 2012: Mr Owen Hughes, Consultant Urologist at University Hospital Wales, Cardiff; Dr Sara Body, a GP at a Mold Surgery, North Wales; Mr Victor Babu, Surgery in North Wales, and Mrs Akhila Mutherkrishnan, a Dentist in Morriston.

Professor Derek Gallen, Postgraduate Dean at the School of Postgraduate Medical and Dental Education said:

"Wales's medical and dental educational supervisors and trainers play a vital role in delivery high quality training for our doctors and dentists entering the profession and encouraging more trainees to look to Wales to work and live. This award goes some way to recognising their very important and influential role."

The BEST Awards also recognised the work of Dr Eirian Lewis, a GP in Carmarthen; Dr Steven Backhouse ENT Consultant in Bridgend, and Dr Ben Shooter, Psychiatrist in Pontypool.

The awards are part of the 'Supervising the Route to Excellence' programme which aims to ensure excellence in medical training through the development and support of high quality educational, clinical supervisors and trainers throughout Wales.

The annual BEST awards are now part of the BMA/BMJ Clinical Teacher of the Year Awards, which is a collaboration between Cardiff Medical School, Swansea Medical School and the School of Postgraduate Medical and Dental Education.

The four winners of the award also received a Medical Education Bursary worth £3,000.

The strategic aim of the School of Postgraduate Medical and Dental Education is to commission, quality assure and support the education and training of trainees, hospital doctors, GPs, dentists and DCPs in Wales.

Share this story