Skip to main content

Psychiatric Academic Researcher of the Year

19 November 2013

Professor Ian Jones

Professor Ian Jones, a perinatal psychiatrist and academic at the School of Medicine, has been named Psychiatric Academic Researcher of the Year 2013 by the Royal College of Psychiatrists.

The annual RCPsych Awards mark the highest level of achievement within psychiatry, and are designed to recognise and reward excellent practice in the field of mental health.

Professor Jones was presented with his trophy by Professor Peter Woodruff, Chair of the Royal College of Psychiatrists' Faculty of Academic Psychiatry, at a prestigious ceremony held at the Royal Society of Medicine on 14 November.

As well as being Deputy Director for the National Centre for Mental Health, he holds the post of Director of Public Engagement for the MRC Centre Neuropsychiatric Genetics & Genomics.

Competition for the RCPsych Awards is always extremely tough, and the judging panels were overwhelmed by the quality of this year's entries. The judges said: "Ian Jones is a model clinical academic psychiatrist. He combines international excellence in his research, teaching and clinical work, with a strong commitment to public education and the development of the profession of psychiatry."

Professor Jones has published over 160 peer-reviewed papers (including over 40 in the last three years), contributed to the development of UK national clinical guidelines, and in 2010 was awarded the prestigious International Marcé Medal in recognition of his research on postpartum psychosis.

Professor Sue Bailey, President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists, said: "This award recognises the critical role that academics play in scientific research that improves the understanding, treatment and care of people with mental illness. Ian's research has led to the increased recognition of the risk of childbirth in women with bipolar disorder, and I am delighted the College is able to recognise his achievements with this award."

Nominations for the RCPsych Awards 2014 will open in January.

Share this story