Skip to main content

Celebrating Excellence

5 December 2013

Celebrating excellence awards

The achievements and dedication of Cardiff University staff have been recognised at the annual Celebrating Excellence Awards.

In their second year, the awards represent the University's appreciation of staff who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment and contribution, and who are recognised for going above and beyond the call of duty.

More than 100 members of staff were nominated this year, representing the highest level of effort, excellence, innovation and best practice.

The winners were announced at an awards ceremony last week. Speaking at the event Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Elizabeth Treasure said: "This event celebrates the outstanding achievements of staff right across the University. Those nominated have been recognised by their colleagues as not only having contributed to the success of our institution, but as having done so to an exceptional degree.

"I offer my sincere congratulations to all the winners and finalists. They should be very proud of their achievements and we are grateful for all that they have contributed to the University."

Full list of winners:

Rising Star Award – Dr Gemma Whatling, School of Engineering

Sustained Excellence Award – Matthew Williamson, School of Healthcare Sciences

Lifetime Achievement Award – Dr Sara Delamont, School of Social Sciences

Outstanding Contribution to Community or Environment – Dr Dan Rogers, School of Engineering

Exceptional Enhancement of the Student Experience – Neil Coles, Research, Innovation and Enterprise Services

Excellence in Teaching – Dr Jon Anderson, School of Planning and Geography

Excellence in Research – Professor Stijn Smismans, Cardiff Law School

Outstanding Contribution to the University's International Activities – Professor Andrew Quantock, School of Optometry and Vision Sciences

Outstanding Contribution and Engagement – Professor Jenny Kitzinger, School of Journalism, Media and Cultural Studies

Outstanding Support to the University – The University Library Service, Social Media, Digital Signage and Marketing Team

Outstanding Contribution to Leadership – Professor Gary Baxter, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences and School of Optometry and Vision Sciences

Sir Herbert Duthie Prize for Staff Development – Sarah Ingram, Student Services

William O'Grady Prize for Technicians – Adrian Crabb, Estates

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Contribution to the University – The REF team, including staff from Information Services, Planning and Human Resources

Share this story