Skip to main content

School hosts 15th annual Cardiff Chemistry Conference

13 May 2016

PhD students supervised by Prof Davide Bonifazi
PhD students supervised by Prof Davide Bonifazi

On 9th and 10th May, the School of Chemistry hosted the 15th annual Cardiff Chemistry Conference.

The conference is a global forum for scientists to present their chemical research and showcase the latest developments in the field. Previous speakers at the conference have included Nobel Laureates, which reflects the high calibre of speakers attending and supporting this event from across the world of chemistry.

Activities at this year’s conference covered the full spectrum of chemistry subjects and explored the intersections between chemistry and other disciplines. Lecture topics included new insights into boron-boron bonds, the applications of enzyme cascades in organic synthesis, and investigating biogenic photonic crystals crossing-over with the biological and physical sciences.

Speakers at the event included high-level academics from across the UK, Germany, and Israel; Professor Lia Addadi from the Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel, Professor Holger Braunschweig representing the University of Würzburg, Germany, Professor Andrew Cooper FRS from the University of Liverpool, Professor Sabine Flitsch from the University of Manchester, and Professor Martin Warren attending from the University of Kent.

Chemistry Poster Session in the VJ Gallery
Chemistry Poster Session in the VJ Gallery

In addition to lectures presenting the latest research developments in the field, the conference provided PhD students and postdoctoral researchers from the School of Chemistry with the opportunity of presenting their work to an audience of eminent and global experts in their fields. Several lectures and poster sessions were held to showcase the research achievements of our early career researchers.

The Glib Meleshko Memorial prize for the Best Research Lecture was awarded to Sam Jobbins (Supervisor: Stefano Leoni). The School Prize for best poster was won by Nishtha Agarwal (Supervisor: Graham Hutchings), with Elen P. Everett (Supervisor: Alison Paul) in second, and Francesco Fasano (Supervisor: Davide Bonifazi) in third place.

The Cardiff Chemistry Conference was sponsored by the Royal Society of Chemistry South East Wales local section.

Share this story