Skip to main content

Enriching Student Life Awards 2024

22 May 2024

Professor Maneesh Kumar
Professor Maneesh Kumar

Cardiff Business School celebrates those going the extra mile for students at the Enriching Student Life Awards.

4 nominees from Cardiff Business School were shortlisted, with Professor Maneesh Kumar winning the Doctoral Supervisor of the Year category.

The annual Enriching Student Life Awards (ESLAs) recognise individuals who have made remarkable contributions to enriching the student experience.

The ceremony took place at Cardiff Students’ Union building on Thursday 9 May. The evening brought together staff members and students to celebrate the outstanding achievements and dedication of those who go above and beyond to enhance student life at the university.

The audience were greeted by Council Chair Pat Younge, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Education and Student Experience, Claire Morgan, and awards were presented to winners by Students’ Union Sabbatical Officers, and Heads of Academic Schools. This year, the awards were run in partnership between Cardiff University and the Students’ Union for the first time.

Congratulations to Professor Maneesh Kumar for winning the ‘Doctoral Supervisor of the Year’ category.

“I am truly honoured to receive the ‘Doctoral Supervisor of the Year’ award. Many thanks to my students who nominated me and the panel for shortlisting. I dedicate this award to all my current and past PhD students who have motivated me to continuously innovate and improve myself as a mentor/supervisor."
Professor Maneesh Kumar Professor in Service Operations

He added: "I firmly believe when we prioritise our students' interests above all else and go the extra mile to enhance their learning experience, it is a privilege, not a burden. My main drive is to ensure that every doctoral student excels not only academically but also smoothly transitions into fulfilling careers after obtaining their PhD.”

Congratulations to our staff and students who were shortlisted in the following categories:

  • Most Outstanding Learning Experience – Dr Maryam Lotfi
  • Doctoral Supervisor of the Year – Professor Bahman Rostami-Tabar
  • President’s Award – George Sturgess

Find out more and read the full list of winners.

Share this story