Skip to main content

Expertise recognised

1 May 2024

Staff named as Learned Society of Wales Fellows

Thirteen academic staff representing many of the University’s disciplines are among members elected as new Fellows to the Learned Society of Wales.

This year the national academy for arts and sciences has elected 43 new Fellows, all of whom represent the best of Wales’ academic, cultural and civic life.

Cardiff University staff make up more than a quarter of this year’s new cohort, with strong representation across the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Among this year’s list is Professor Wendy Larner, human geographer and Cardiff University President and Vice-Chancellor.

Congratulations to

Dr Lloyd Bowen, Reader in Early Modern and Welsh History, School of History, Archaeology and Religion

Professor Graeme Garrard, Professor of Politics, School of Law and Politics

Professor William Housley, Chair in Sociology, School of Social Sciences

Dr Savyasaachi Jain, Reader in Journalism and Documentary, School of Journalism, Media and Culture

Professor Wendy Larner, President and Vice-Chancellor

Professor Radhika Mohanram, Professor of Postcolonial Studies, School of English, Communication and Philosophy

Professor Clair Rowden, Professor of Musicology, School of Music

Professor Hywel Thomas, the Society’s President, said:

“The announcement of our new Fellows is always a highlight of the Society year. The work of the Society, the innovation roundtables we run, our Early Career Researchers Network are all built on the knowledge and contributions of our Fellows. Being able to draw upon their collective expertise to support the work we do means we can have a real impact as a source of trusted, evidence-informed advice.”

Explore the list of new Fellows, where they work and their areas of specialism.

Share this story