Skip to main content

Celebrating excellence with student awards

21 February 2020

High-achieving and scholarship students from the School of Geography and Planning were recognised at a student prizegiving ceremony on February 7, 2020.

Led by Head of School, Professor Paul Milbourne, and Director of Teaching and Learning, Dr Chris Bear, the annual prizegiving event brought together top-performing undergraduate and postgraduate students as well as those who have received bursaries or scholarships to pursue their studies.

Undergraduate success

Students from across the School’s undergraduate portfolio were honoured during the ceremony. Prizes were given to those who have achieved the highest average mark in their first or second year of study and those who have shown significant improvement from year one to two. Congratulations to the following for their hard work and achievements: Jack Collard, Robert Blake, Tamika Hull, Ellie Roe, Charlotte Corthorne, Ffion Sophie Middleton, Ellie Louise Horan, Hannah Burston, Isobel Seamer, Hannah Morgan, Harriet Sarah Hipwell, Jacob Lloyd Evans, Lewis Rhys Byng, Meng Chen, Chris Burgess.

Scholarship recipients were also acknowledged including Ffion Middleton who received the 2019 George Rich Scholarship and Cardiff University Scholarship recipients Laura Ferencova, Katharine Forbes, Nerys Davies and Anthony Storkey.

Postgraduate prizes

Alongside the undergraduate prizes, the event also provided an opportunity to recognise current postgraduate scholarship holders and bursary beneficiaries. This year, they included recipients of Cardiff University Master’s Excellence Scholarships: Angharad Owen, Annamaria Sgueglia, Cerys Smith, Fatima Moreno Viera, Holly McElroy, Hasnain Ikram, Jack Satterthwaite, Jordan Wilson, Michael Clawson, Nia Roberts, Stephanie Laidlaw.

Also recognised were the recipients of the Brian Large Bursary and Rees Jeffreys Bursary – these are externally funded scholarships for students studying Transport and Planning. Congratulations to Thomas Morris, Angelique Caranzo, Daniel Gillen and Ilias Geronikolos.

Share this story

The School applies critical thinking and practical knowledge in solving economic, environmental and social problems to address the grand challenges faced by human societies and places today.