Skip to main content

Annual Poster Day takes place in City Hall

5 March 2019

Poster Day

This week saw the annual School of Pharmacy Poster Day, that took place in Cardiff’s City Hall. Every year, final year students on the MPharm programme complete their own research project, where they get to learn about lab techniques and procedures, and data analysis spanning a broad range of areas from fundamental research through to pharmacy practice. At the culmination of the projects students showcase their results in a conference style setting through a series of posters.

Marianne Collins
Marianne Collins (Castell) Characterisation of Pore Forming Proteins in Artificial Lipid Bilayers

This year projects encompassed the fields of Drug Discovery, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Experimental Therapeutics, and Medicines Optimisation & Healthcare Outcomes. Poster day is an event that is always hugely anticipated by students and staff. It is an event where undergraduates are able to demonstrate real ownership for a piece of research and where staff, invited guests and students alike are able discuss scholarship issues at a more collegiate level.

Abbie Shaw
Abbie Shaw (Lane) – Does the addition of a 2A or IRES linker improve the efficacy of gene therapy in a 6-OHDA rodent model of Parkinson’s disease?

Guests this year included Jamie Hayes, Director of the Welsh Medicines Resource Centre, Sarah Hiom of the Pharmacy Research Wales Steering Group, Andrew Sully, Principal Pharmacist in the Cardiff & Vale UHB, Owain Brookes who works as a Renal Pharmacist at Morriston Hospital, Kath Haynes and Robert Bracchi of the Welsh Analytical Prescribing Support Unit, and Ken Wann, an Honorary Professor at the School of Pharmacy.

Alliyah Sajid (Ford) – Assessment of asthma control, adherence and inhaler technique

Also in attendance to award a lay faculty prize were Ian Hill, Esther Howarth-Papp, and Alan Meudell. The lay faculty was set up to ensure public understanding of the science taking place in the School of Pharmacy is accessible and clear to a wider audience.

Josana Hayes
Lay Faculty Prize: Josana Hayes (Coulman) – Evaluating published test methods that are used to measure microneedle height and strength. This award is for excellence in public accessibility but not counted towards final mark.

Following assessment, the best posters were awarded prizes. This year’s winners were Marianne Collins, Josana Hayes, Alliyah Sajid and Abbie Shaw.

Share this story