Skip to main content

Celebrating the Class of 2018!

26 July 2018

Staff and students of the School of Modern Languages gathered in Cardiff this July to celebrate the achievements of the Class of 2018.

After graduating at a ceremony held in St David’s Hall on 17 July, graduates and their guests enjoyed a Graduation Garden in the grounds of the University’s Main Building where canapes and branded University cupcakes were served with Prosecco and orange juice.

Head of School Professor Rachael Langford welcomed the guests to the reception and congratulated all graduates for their hard work during the years that they had studied at the School.

Following her speech, Professor Langford went on to present a number of prizes to both undergraduates, postgraduates and staff who had been recognised for their achievements within a variety of areas:

Year Abroad Photo competition 2016-17
Philippa Bartlett
Vera Opoku
Sarah Clee
Eleana Witt
Louise Ormerod
Malgorzata Brewczyk

Mollie Williams Prizes:
For distinction in oral proficiency in German:
Cameron Glew  
Naomi James

Best performance in written German language papers in Final Year exams:
Vera Opoku  
Emma Bateman

Best performance by a Final Year student in German option modules:
Sarah Tipuric    
Amy Fligelstone

Olwen Reckert Prize: Scholarship for Spanish Postgraduate study:
Louise Ormerod

Remo Catani Prize: best ab initio performance in Italian:
Megan Edwards

Marika Gillespie Prize: best UG dissertation:
Amy Fligelstone
Harry Mayo

Sakura Prize:
Outstanding Presentation in Final Year Japanese Oral Assesment:
Kisari Belcher

Postgraduate Prizes:
Best Dissertation:
Meleri Jenkins

Best Annotated Translation Project:
Kelsey Hibbitt

Staff Awards
Most Inspiring Teacher Award
Each year students are asked to nominate the teacher who has inspired them most during their time in the School. This year 104 students nominated staff, with colleagues from across all the programmes celebrated.

This year’s overall winners were Heiko Feldner (German programme) and Nazaret Perez-Nieto (Spanish programme).

Nominations for Heiko praised his eloquence, his encouragement, and his enthusiasm while nominations for Nazaret reflected on the way she brings her teaching material alive.

Enriching Student Life Awards
At this year’s reception we also took time to celebrate staff members, Ryan Prout and Ana Carrasco who had been recognised earlier this year at the Enriching Student Life Awards.

Leader in Equality, Diversity & Inclusion
Winner: Ryan Prout

Enriching Student Life Award
Winner: Ryan Prout

Most Uplifting member of staff
Nominated: Ana Carrasco

We hope all students and their family members enjoyed our celebrations and we wish the graduating class of 2018 the very best for the future.

Share this story