Skip to content

Academic and research staff

Dr Alia Abdelmoty

Dr Alia Abdelmoty

Senior Lecturer

Email:
abdelmotyai@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4751
Professor Stuart Allen

Professor Stuart Allen

Head of School, Computer Science and Informatics

Email:
allensm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6070
Dr Luis Espinosa Anke

Dr Luis Espinosa Anke

Lecturer

Email:
espinosa-ankel@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0054
Eirini Anthi

Eirini Anthi

Research Associate

Email:
anthies@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0056
Steven Arthur

Steven Arthur

Teaching Associate

Email:
arthurs@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 1408
Gillian Baird

Gillian Baird

Data Scientist - Research Assistant

Email:
bairdg1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9184
Dr Masoud Barati

Dr Masoud Barati

Research Associate

Email:
baratim@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)7902120645
Dr Richard Booth

Dr Richard Booth

Lecturer

Email:
boothr2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4749
Professor Malcolm Brown

Professor Malcolm Brown

Professor of Computational Mathematics

Email:
brownbm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5538
Professor Pete Burnap

Professor Pete Burnap

Professor of Data Science & Cybersecurity

Email:
p.burnap@cs.cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6249
Dr Jose Camacho Collados

Dr Jose Camacho Collados

Lecturer

Email:
camachocolladosj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9108
Dr Martin Caminada

Dr Martin Caminada

Lecturer

Email:
caminadam@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0109
Dr Usashi Chatterjee

Dr Usashi Chatterjee

Teaching Associate

Email:
chatterjeeu@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 1408
Dr Yulia Cherdantseva

Dr Yulia Cherdantseva

Lecturer

Email:
cherdantsevayv@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0014
Dr Martin Chorley

Dr Martin Chorley

Director of Learning and Teaching
Senior Lecturer

Email:
chorleymj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4683
Dr Walter Colombo

Dr Walter Colombo

Research Associate

Email:
colombog@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0010
Dr Ian Cooper

Dr Ian Cooper

Lecturer

Email:
cooperim@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8798
Dr Padraig Corcoran

Dr Padraig Corcoran

Director, Data Science Academy
Senior Lecturer

Email:
corcoranp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6996
Mike Daley

Mike Daley

Lecturer

Email:
daleym@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6879
Dr Hélène de Ribaupierre

Dr Hélène de Ribaupierre

Lecturer

Email:
deribaupierreh@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5532
Dr Bailin Deng

Dr Bailin Deng

Lecturer

Email:
dengb3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4591
Dr Nervo Verdezoto Dias

Dr Nervo Verdezoto Dias

Lecturer

Email:
verdezotodiasn@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0) 29 225 11735
Dr Natasha Edwards

Dr Natasha Edwards

Lecturer

Email:
edwardsn@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9345
Emily Elias

Emily Elias

Data Scientist
Research Assistant

Email:
eliase@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
02920879184
Dr Parisa Eslambolchilar

Dr Parisa Eslambolchilar

Reader

Email:
eslambolchilarp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9346
Dr Daniel Finnegan

Dr Daniel Finnegan

Lecturer

Email:
finnegand@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6890
Sachin Galahitiya

Sachin Galahitiya

Data Scientist - Research Assistant

Email:
galahitiyas@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9184
Professor Alex Gray

Professor Alex Gray

Emeritus Professor

Email:
graywa@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Victor Gutierrez Basulto

Dr Victor Gutierrez Basulto

Lecturer

Email:
gutierrezbasultov@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6058
Alex Hardisty

Alex Hardisty

Director of Informatics Projects

Email:
hardistyar@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4761
Dr Michael Holmes

Dr Michael Holmes

Data Scientist
Research Associate

Email:
holmesm4@cardiff.ac.uk
David Humphreys

David Humphreys

Teaching Associate

Email:
humphreysdj@cardiff.ac.uk
Asma Irfan

Asma Irfan

Teaching Associate

Email:
irfana1@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Wendy Ivins

Dr Wendy Ivins

Senior Lecturer

Email:
ivinswk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0248
Amir Javed

Amir Javed

Research Associate

Email:
a.javed@cs.cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0009
Carl Jones

Carl Jones

Lecturer

Email:
jonesc162@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 206 88797
Professor Christopher Jones

Professor Christopher Jones

Professor of Geographic Information Systems

Email:
jonescb2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4796
Dr Kathryn Jones

Dr Kathryn Jones

Lecturer

Email:
jonesk90@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0053
Dr Angelika Kimmig

Dr Angelika Kimmig

Lecturer

Email:
kimmiga@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5519
Dr Louise Knight

Dr Louise Knight

Lecturer

Email:
knightl2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0951
Dr Yukun Lai

Dr Yukun Lai

Director of Research

Email:
laiy4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6353
Dr Mike Lakoju

Dr Mike Lakoju

Research Associate in Data Science and Cyber Analytics

Email:
lakojum@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0845
Dr Frank Langbein

Dr Frank Langbein

Senior Lecturer

Email:
langbeinfc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0110
Dr Anna Ledwoch

Dr Anna Ledwoch

Research Associate

Email:
ledwocha@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Jae Hee Lee

Dr Jae Hee Lee

Research Associate

Email:
leejh3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0891
Dr Yuhua Li

Dr Yuhua Li

Senior Lecturer

Email:
liy180@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5317
Dr Federico Liberatore

Dr Federico Liberatore

Lecturer in Data & Knowledge Engineering

Email:
liberatoref@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Han Liu

Dr Han Liu

Research Associate

Email:
liuh48@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2081 0051
Dr Hantao Liu

Dr Hantao Liu

Director of International
Senior Lecturer

Email:
hantao.liu@cs.cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6557
Dr Fernando Loizides

Dr Fernando Loizides

Deputy Director, Data Science Academy
Industry Engagement Lead
Lecturer

Email:
loizidesf@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9160
Professor David Marshall

Professor David Marshall

Professor of Computer Vision

Email:
marshallad@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5318
Professor Ralph Martin

Professor Ralph Martin

Emeritus Professor of Geometric Computing

Email:
martinrr@cardiff.ac.uk
Dimitra Mavridou

Dimitra Mavridou

Data Scientist
Research Assistant

Email:
mavridoud1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
02920879025
Dr Jeffrey Morgan

Dr Jeffrey Morgan

Research Software Engineer
Data Innovation Research Institute

Email:
morganj51@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Morgan

Dr Matthew Morgan

Lecturer

Email:
morganmjw@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6071
Dr Mohamed Mostafa

Dr Mohamed Mostafa

Lead Software Engineer

Email:
mostafam1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2081 0037
Matthew Nunes

Matthew Nunes

Research Associate

Email:
verdezotodiasn@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr James Osborne

Dr James Osborne

Lecturer

Email:
osbornej8@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4767
Dr Charith Perera

Dr Charith Perera

Lecturer

Email:
pererac@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0987
Helen Phillips

Helen Phillips

Lecturer

Email:
phillipshr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6752
Professor Alun Preece

Professor Alun Preece

Deputy Head of School, Professor of Intelligent Systems, Co-director of Crime and Security Research Institute

Email:
preecead@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4653
Professor Omer Rana

Professor Omer Rana

College Dean of International
Professor of Performance Engineering

Email:
ranaof@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5542
Joesph Redfern

Joesph Redfern

Research Associate

Email:
redfernjm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0941
Dr Philipp Reinecke

Dr Philipp Reinecke

Lecturer

Email:
reineckep@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0055
Professor Paul Rosin

Professor Paul Rosin

Professor of Computer Vision

Email:
rosinpl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5585
Professor Steven Schockaert

Professor Steven Schockaert

Professor

Email:
schockaerts1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9109
Professor Bernard Schutz

Professor Bernard Schutz

Gravity Exploration Institute

Email:
schutzbf@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Jianhua Shao

Dr Jianhua Shao

Senior Lecturer

Email:
shaoj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6757
Dr Kirill Sidorov

Dr Kirill Sidorov

Lecturer

Email:
sidorovk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6925
Professor Irena Spasic

Professor Irena Spasic

Email:
spasici@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0320
Dr Xianfang Sun

Dr Xianfang Sun

Senior Lecturer

Email:
sunx2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9355
Stephen Talbot

Stephen Talbot

Teaching Associate

Email:
talbots2@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Ian Taylor

Professor Ian Taylor

Reader

Email:
taylorij1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0109
Dr George Theodorakopoulos

Dr George Theodorakopoulos

Senior Lecturer

Email:
theodorakopoulosg@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4855
Dr Matthias Treder

Dr Matthias Treder

Lecturer

Email:
trederm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0960
Daniela Tsaneva

Daniela Tsaneva

Teaching Associate

Dr Liam Turner

Dr Liam Turner

Lecturer

Email:
turnerl9@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0011
Professor David Walker

Professor David Walker

Professor of High Performance Computing

Email:
walkerdw@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4205
Dr Andrew Washbrook

Dr Andrew Washbrook

Senior Data Scientist
Research

Email:
washbrooka@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 1418
Professor Roger Whitaker

Professor Roger Whitaker

College Dean of Research
Professor of Collective Intelligence

Email:
whitakerrm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6999
Dr Ceri White

Dr Ceri White

Senior Data Scientist
Research

Email:
whitec22@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 1417
Dr Lowri Williams

Dr Lowri Williams

Data Scientist
Research Associate

Welsh speaking
Email:
williamsl10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
02920879184
Dr Jing Wu

Dr Jing Wu

Lecturer

Email:
wuj11@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)2920 688810
Stefano Zappala

Stefano Zappala

Teaching Associate

Email:
zappalas@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Alexia Zoumpoulaki

Dr Alexia Zoumpoulaki

Lecturer

Email:
zoumpoulakia@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0052