Skip to main content

Cardiff University Symphony Orchestra - Spring Concert: Kalinnikov, Dvorak, Jenkins

Calendar Saturday, 18 March 2023
Calendar 19:00-21:00

This event has ended.


Add to calendar


Cardiff University Symphony Orchestra perform their end of semester concert under the baton of a new conductor, Margarita Mikhailova. The programme presents a selection of music full of character, dance and vivacity to capture the mood of the Spring season. Admirers of Borodin and Tchaikovsky can enjoy their lesser known contemporary, Kalinnikov with his notable 1st Symphony as the opening to the concert. We then will be presented with Dvořák's lively Slavonic Dances, based on the West Slavic dance patterns of furiant, dumka, polka and sousedská. Ending on a Welsh note, the Orchestra will be joined by a choir and solo cello for the beautiful 'Benedictus' movement from Jenkin's The Armed Man: A Mass for Peace.

Llandaff Cathedral
Cathedral Close

Share this event

Events in this series

School of Music concert series