Skip to main content

Commonwealth Master's Scholarship Programme

Commonwealth Master's Scholarships are a joint initiative between the UK government-funded Commonwealth Scholarship Commission and UK universities.

Commonwealth Master's Scholarships are available for students from low and middle-income countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the UK, enabling them to benefit from full-time Master's study at a UK university.

The scholarships are offered under six key themes:

  1. Science and technology for development
  2. Strengthening health systems and capacity
  3. Promoting global prosperity
  4. Strengthening global peace, security and governance
  5. Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  6. Access, inclusion and opportunity.


To apply for these scholarships, students must be postgraduate applicants from low and middle-income Commonwealth countries only, who wish to study programmes which fall under the six key themes.

Further eligibility criteria, including a list of eligible Commonwealth countries, can be found on the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission website.

Please note that Cardiff University does not administer this scholarship and that all eligibility enquiries and applications should be directed to the Commonwealth Association or the British Council within your home country. For further information, please see the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission website.

How to apply

The application process for 2020 entry is now open on the Commonwealth Scholarships website. The deadline for applications is 16:00 (GMT) on 30 October 2019. However, please ensure that you check with the nominating agency in your home country for the relevant deadlines for your application.

Applications should be made through either a selected non-governmental organisation and charitable body or through your national nominating agency for Commonwealth scholarships in your home country.

The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission expects all Commonwealth Scholarship candidates to be nominated by an approved nominating body, and to have completed an application form online using the Electronic Application System (EAS). There is no charge for candidates who apply using this online application system.

Your application must include the following supporting documentation by 16:00 (GMT) on 20 November 2019 in order for your application to be eligible for consideration:

  • proof of citizenship or refugee status – uploaded to the online application system
  • full transcripts detailing all your higher education qualifications (with certified translations if not in English) – uploaded to the online application system
  • references from at least two individuals – submitted directly by the referees to the online application system (referees will be sent an email request).

Please visit the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission website for full terms and conditions.