Skip to content

The SOCSI/COMSC Research Network

The SOCSI/COMSC Research Network was established in 2010 and is committed to promoting closer collaboration between computer and social scientists in the context of key areas of innovation in social research:

  • web 2.0 technology
  • data representation
  • data harvesting
  • data analysis
  • visual analytics
  • informatics.

These efforts will crystallize around the construction of a suite of digital social scientific methodological tools.

The group is also concerned with the application and evaluation of existing analytic resources in  relation to social scientific questions and problems as well as work concerned with the theorisation and conceptual framing of the emerging contours of digital society.

Academic staff

Professor Jonathan Scourfield

Professor Jonathan Scourfield

Professor

Welsh speaking
Email:
scourfield@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2087 5402
Dr Luke Sloan

Dr Luke Sloan

Reader, Director of Recruitment

Email:
sloanls@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 208 70262
Professor Malcolm Williams

Professor Malcolm Williams

Professor

Email:
williamsmd4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 29208 75359
Professor Matthew L. Williams

Professor Matthew L. Williams

Chair in Criminology - School of Social Sciences, Director - ESRC Social Data Science Lab, Director - ESRC HateLab

Email:
williamsm7@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2087 4853
Professor Martin Innes

Professor Martin Innes

Director, Crime and Security Research Institute and Director, Universities' Police Science Institute

Email:
innesm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 29208 75307
Professor William Housley

Professor William Housley

Chair in Sociology

Email:
housleyw@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2087 5236
Dr Adam Edwards

Dr Adam Edwards

Reader

Email:
edwardsa2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 29208 74174
Professor Bella Dicks

Professor Bella Dicks

Professor in Sociology

Email:
dicksb@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 29208 75231
Professor Pete Burnap

Professor Pete Burnap

Professor of Data Science & Cybersecurity

Email:
p.burnap@cs.cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6249