Skip to content
Professor Steven Schockaert

Professor Steven Schockaert


School of Computer Science and Informatics

Media commentator
Available for postgraduate supervision

I joined the School of Computer Science and Informatics in 2011 as a lecturer, where I am currently a professor. Previously I was a PhD student at Ghent university from 2004 to 2008 and a postdoctoral fellow of the Research Foundation Flanders from 2008 to 2011. My research, in the area of Artificial Intelligence, focuses on reasoning with imperfect information, including various forms of commonsense reasoning. This involves the combination of techniques and ideas from the field of Knowledge Representation and Reasoning with methods from Machine Learning, with applications in Natural Languague Processing and Information Retrieval.

Honours and awards

  • ECCAI Artificial Intelligence Dissertation Award
  • IBM Belgium Prize for Computer Science
  • Best paper award at ILP 2017
  • Best paper award at GEOCROWD 2012
  • Best paper award runner-up at ECAI 2012
  • Quantum Leap Award at MediaEval 2010

Professional memberships

Speaking engagements

We are currently unable to retrieve the list of publications. Visit our institutional repository.

I am the module leader of "Artificial Intelligence", which is taught in the 3rd year of the BSc Computer Science programme.

Current research projects:

  • Formal lexically informed logics for searching the web, ERC Starting Grant, 2015-2020.

Previous research projects:

  • Fuzzy answer set programming 2.0 (with Dirk Vermeir and Martine De Cock), Research Foundation - Flanders, 2010-2014.
  • A synergistic approach to extraction, learning and reasoning for machine reading (with Jesse Davis, Marie-Francine Moens and Martine De Cock), Research Foundation - Flanders, 2011-2016.
  • Enriching, repairing and merging taxonomies by inducing qualitative spatial representations from the web, EPSRC First Grant, 2013-2014.
  • Approximating Markov logic theories in possibilistic logic (with Jesse Davis), Leverhulme Trust, 2014-2016.