Skip to main content

Associated principal investigators

Dr Jennifer Acton

Dr Jennifer Acton

Director of Recruitment and Admissions, Lecturer

Email
actonj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0203
Dr Julie Albon

Dr Julie Albon

Senior Lecturer, Deputy Director of Research, Optic Nerve Head Group Leader, Person designate, Cathays Park HTA satellite licence

Email
albonj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29208 75427
Dr Judith Allardyce

Dr Judith Allardyce

Clinical Research Fellow, Division of Psychological Medicine & Clinical Neurosciences

Email
allardycej2@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Nick Allen

Professor Nick Allen

Professor

Email
allennd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6196
Dr Richard Angell

Dr Richard Angell

Senior Research Fellow

Email
angellr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 1094
Richard Anney

Richard Anney

Senior Lecturer in Bioinformatics, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
anneyr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 208 8390
Dr Sarah Argent

Dr Sarah Argent

Clinical Research Fellow, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
argents@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8041
Professor Yves Barde

Professor Yves Barde

Professor / Sêr Cymru Research Chair in Neurobiology

Email
bardey@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0987
Dr Ben Bax

Dr Ben Bax

Reader

Email
baxb@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 22 51 1070
Dr Rhys Bevan-Jones

Dr Rhys Bevan-Jones

Senior Clinical Research Fellow, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Welsh speaking
Email
bevanjonesr1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29206 88451
Professor Jonathan Bisson

Professor Jonathan Bisson

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
bissonji@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8486
Professor Derek Blake

Professor Derek Blake

Professor of Neuroscience, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
blakedj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8468
Professor Jacky Boivin

Professor Jacky Boivin

Professor

Email
boivin@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5289
Professor Vladimir Buchman

Professor Vladimir Buchman

Professor

Email
buchmanvl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9068
Professor Monica Busse

Professor Monica Busse

Director of Mind, Brain and Neuroscience Trials

Email
busseme@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 7559
Marisa Casanova Dias

Marisa Casanova Dias

MRC Clinical Research Training Fellow, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
casanovadiasm@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Chris Chambers

Professor Chris Chambers

Professor, Head of Brain Stimulation

Email
chambersc1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0331
Professor Stephan Collishaw

Professor Stephan Collishaw

Personal Chair, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
collishaws@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8436
Professor John Culling

Professor John Culling

Email
cullingj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4556
Professor Alun Davies

Professor Alun Davies

Honorary Professor

Email
daviesalun@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4303
Dr William Davies

Dr William Davies

Senior Lecturer, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
daviesw4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0152
Dr Silvia De Santis

Dr Silvia De Santis

Sir Henry Wellcome Postdoctoral Fellow

Email
desantiss@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Arianna Di Florio

Dr Arianna Di Florio

Clinical Senior Lecturer, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
diflorioa@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8418
Professor Vincent Dion

Professor Vincent Dion

Professor, Dementia Research Institute

Email
dionv@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2251 0893
Dr Joanne Doherty

Dr Joanne Doherty

Clinical Research Fellow, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
dohertyjl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8455
Dr Matt J Dunn

Dr Matt J Dunn

Lecturer, Deputy Director of Postgraduate Research

Email
dunnmj1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 208 70576
Professor Dominic M Dwyer

Professor Dominic M Dwyer

Email
dwyerdm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6285
Professor Valentina Escott-Price

Professor Valentina Escott-Price

Professor, Dementia Research Institute

Email
escottpricev@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8429
Dr Lisa Evans

Dr Lisa Evans

Senior Lecturer, Head of EEG

Email
evanslh@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0080
Dr Olga Eyre

Dr Olga Eyre

Clinical Research Fellow, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
eyreo2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8452
Dr David Foley

Dr David Foley

Research Fellow

Email
foleyd4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 1073
Professor Kevin Fox

Professor Kevin Fox

Professor

Email
foxkd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4632
Professor Tom Freeman

Professor Tom Freeman

Professor

Email
freemant@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4554
Dr Chiara Gambi

Dr Chiara Gambi

Lecturer

Email
gambic@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8950
Professor Merideth Gattis

Professor Merideth Gattis

Email
gattism@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0034
Dr Sarah Gerson

Dr Sarah Gerson

Senior Lecturer

Email
gersons@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0480
Professor Mark Good

Professor Mark Good

Email
good@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5867
Professor Kim Graham

Professor Kim Graham

Pro Vice-Chancellor Research, Innovation and Enterprise

Email
grahamks@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0468
Dr Olivera Grubisha

Dr Olivera Grubisha

Lecturer

Email
grubishao@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 1071
Khalid Hamandi

Khalid Hamandi

Consultant Neurologist and Honorary Senior Lecturer

Email
hamandik@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8821
Dr Judith R Harrison

Dr Judith R Harrison

Wellcome Trust GW4 Clinical Academic Training Fellow, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
harrisonjr1@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Neil Harrison

Professor Neil Harrison

Clinical Professor in Neuroimaging

Email
harrisonn4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6785
Professor Dale Hay

Professor Dale Hay

Emeritus Professor

Email
haydf@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6503
Andrea Higgins

Andrea Higgins

Lecturer

Email
higginsa2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9003
Professor Peter Holmans

Professor Peter Holmans

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
holmanspa@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8427
Professor Rob Honey

Professor Rob Honey

Professor

Email
honey@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5868
James Hrastelj

James Hrastelj

Neurology Clinical Research Fellow, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
hrasteljj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2074 3454
Dr Trevor Humby

Dr Trevor Humby

Senior Lecturer

Email
humbyt@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6758
Dr Anthony Isles

Dr Anthony Isles

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
islesar1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8467
Dr Dobril Ivanov

Dr Dobril Ivanov

Sêr Cymru II Fellow, Dementia Research Institute

Email
ivanovd1@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Rosalind John

Professor Rosalind John

Head of Biomedicine Division, Professor

Email
johnrm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0145
Dr Catherine Jones

Dr Catherine Jones

Senior Lecturer

Email
jonescr10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0684
Professor Ian Jones

Professor Ian Jones

Director/Clinical Professor, National Centre for Mental Health

Email
jonesir1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8327
Professor Lesley Jones

Professor Lesley Jones

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
jonesl1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8469
Dr Kimberley Kendall

Dr Kimberley Kendall

Wellcome Trust Clinical Research Fellow, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
kendallkm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8418
Dr Emma Kidd

Dr Emma Kidd

Dean of Postgraduate Studies, College of Biomedical and Life Sciences

Email
kiddej@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5803
Professor George Kirov

Professor George Kirov

Clinical Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
kirov@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8465
Dr Emre Kopanoglu

Dr Emre Kopanoglu

Lecturer

Email
kopanoglue@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0256
Dr Emma Lane

Dr Emma Lane

Senior Lecturer in Neuropharmacology & Director of Postgraduate Research

Email
laneel@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4989
Dr Kate Langley

Dr Kate Langley

Senior Lecturer

Email
langleyk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6259
Professor Andrew Lawrence

Professor Andrew Lawrence

Professor, Head of Cognitive Neuroscience

Email
lawrencead@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0712
Professor Sue Leekam

Professor Sue Leekam

Professor

Email
leekamsr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
029 208 76604
Dr Mariah Lelos

Dr Mariah Lelos

Senior Lecturer

Email
lelosmj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5541
Professor Penny (Penelope) Lewis

Professor Penny (Penelope) Lewis

Professor

Email
lewisp8@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0467
Dr Emyr Lloyd-Evans

Dr Emyr Lloyd-Evans

Senior Lecturer

Welsh speaking
Email
lloyd-evanse@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4304
Professor Bill Macken

Professor Bill Macken

Professor

Email
macken@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5354
Dr Guy Major

Dr Guy Major

Senior Lecturer

Email
majorg@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 9039
Professor Tom Margrain

Professor Tom Margrain

Director of Research

Email
margrainth@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29208 76118
Dr Isabel Martinez Garay

Dr Isabel Martinez Garay

Senior Lecturer

Email
martinezgarayi@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0029
Dr Tom Massey

Dr Tom Massey

WCAT Fellow, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
masseyt1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)292068 8353
Dr David McGonigle

Dr David McGonigle

Lecturer

Email
mcgonigled@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0353
Dr Lee McIlreavy

Dr Lee McIlreavy

Lecturer

Email
mcilreavyl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 208 70134
Dr Duncan McLauchlan

Dr Duncan McLauchlan

WCAT Fellow, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
mclauchland@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2074 3454
Dr Claudia Metzler-Baddeley

Dr Claudia Metzler-Baddeley

Senior Lecturer in Cognitive Neuroscience

Email
metzler-baddeleyc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0705
Professor James E Morgan

Professor James E Morgan

Professor in Ophthalmology, Consultant Ophthalmologist, School of Optometry & Vision Sciences

Email
morganje3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2074 3222
Professor Michael O'Donovan

Professor Michael O'Donovan

Deputy Director/Clinical Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
odonovanmc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8320
Dr Joseph O'Neill

Dr Joseph O'Neill

Ser Cymru Fellow

Email
oneillj9@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8916
Dr Michael Paradowski

Dr Michael Paradowski

Project Lead

Email
paradowskim@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29225 10847
Professor John M Pearce

Professor John M Pearce

Emeritus Professor

Email
pearcejm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
029 208 74483
Dr Owen Peters

Dr Owen Peters

Lecturer in Dementia Research

Email
petersom@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0898
Dr Andrew Pocklington

Dr Andrew Pocklington

Senior Lecturer, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
pocklingtonaj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8428
Dr Adele Pryce Roberts (currently on maternity leave)

Dr Adele Pryce Roberts (currently on maternity leave)

WCAT Fellow, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
pryce-robertsa@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Tony Redmond

Dr Tony Redmond

Senior Lecturer, Director of Postgraduate Research

Email
redmondt1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 0564
Professor Frances Rice

Professor Frances Rice

Professor of Developmental Psychopathology, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
ricef2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8384
Professor Neil Robertson

Professor Neil Robertson

Clinical Professor of Neurology, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
robertsonnp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2074 5403
Dr Malgorzata Rozanowska

Dr Malgorzata Rozanowska

Senior Lecturer, School of Optometry and Vision Sciences

Email
rozanowskamb@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29208 75057
Cynthia Sandor

Cynthia Sandor

Sêr Cymru Fellow, Dementia Research Institute

Email
sandorc@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Tatyana Shelkovnikova

Dr Tatyana Shelkovnikova

Research Fellow

Email
shelkovnikovat@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2022 511072
Professor Katherine Shelton

Professor Katherine Shelton

Professor

Email
sheltonkh1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 6093
Dr Nigel Short

Dr Nigel Short

Senior Research Fellow

Email
nigels@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Florian Siebzehnrubl

Dr Florian Siebzehnrubl

Research Fellow, European Cancer Stem Cell Research Institute, School of  Biosciences

Email
fas@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8500
Dr Rebecca Sims

Dr Rebecca Sims

Research Fellow, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
simsrc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8450
Professor Krishna Singh

Professor Krishna Singh

Professor, Head of Human Electrophysiology

Email
singhkd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 4690
Professor Andrew P Smith

Professor Andrew P Smith

Email
smithap@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 4757
Dr Gaynor Ann Smith

Dr Gaynor Ann Smith

Lecturer, Dementia Research Institute

Email
smithga@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Robert J Snowden

Professor Robert J Snowden

Professor

Email
snowden@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4937
Professor Petroc Sumner

Professor Petroc Sumner

Professor and Head of School, School of Psychology

Email
sumnerp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 0091
Dr Emma Tallantyre

Dr Emma Tallantyre

Clinical Senior Lecturer, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neuroscience

Email
tallantyreec@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2074 5403
Professor Pamela Taylor

Professor Pamela Taylor

Chair in Psychiatry, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
taylorpj2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8432
Dr Christoph Teufel

Dr Christoph Teufel

Senior Lecturer

Email
teufelc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5372
Professor Anita Thapar

Professor Anita Thapar

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
thapar@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8478
Dr Valentina Tomassini

Dr Valentina Tomassini

Clinical Senior Lecturer, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
tomassiniv@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2074 5118
Marianne van den Bree

Marianne van den Bree

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
vandenbreemb@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8433
Dr Ross Vanderwert

Dr Ross Vanderwert

Lecturer

Email
vanderwertr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8826
Professor Seralynne Vann

Professor Seralynne Vann

Professor

Email
vannsd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6253
Dr Elisabeth von dem Hagen

Dr Elisabeth von dem Hagen

Lecturer

Email
vondemhagene@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0151
Dr Ulrich Von Hecker

Dr Ulrich Von Hecker

Reader

Email
vonheckeru@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6639
Professor Marcela Votruba

Professor Marcela Votruba

Professor

Email
votrubam@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 0117
Dr Louise Waddington

Dr Louise Waddington

Therapies Director

Email
waddingtonl1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5370
Dr Benjamin Wahab

Dr Benjamin Wahab

Research Fellow

Email
wahabb@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 1074
Dr Helen Waller-Evans

Dr Helen Waller-Evans

Lecturer

Email
waller-evansh@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 1093
Professor James Walters

Professor James Walters

Director, MRC Centre for Neuropsychiatric Genetics and Genomics; Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences and Deputy Director of the Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neuroscience

Email
waltersjt@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8434
Professor Simon Ward

Professor Simon Ward

Director, Medicines Discovery Institute

Welsh speaking
Email
wards10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6984
Dr Cerith Waters

Dr Cerith Waters

Lecturer

Email
waterscs@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
029 208 70426
Dr Alan Watson

Dr Alan Watson

Reader

Email
watsona@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 5156
Caleb Webber

Caleb Webber

Professor, Dementia Research Institute

Email
webberc4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 0890
Dr Tim Wells

Dr Tim Wells

Senior Lecturer

Email
wellst@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 4977
Professor Nigel Williams

Professor Nigel Williams

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
williamsnm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2068 8466
Professor Richard Wise

Professor Richard Wise

Professor, Head of Magnetic Resonance Imaging

Email
wiserg@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0)29 2087 0358
Dr Ashley Wood

Dr Ashley Wood

Lecturer

Email
wooda2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 29208 75063
Dr Sean Wyatt

Dr Sean Wyatt

Senior Lecturer

Email
wyattsl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 6153
Dr Ray Wynford-Thomas

Dr Ray Wynford-Thomas

Clinical Research Fellow

Email
wynford-thomasra@cardiff.ac.uk
Professor Stanley Zammit

Professor Stanley Zammit

Professor of Psychiatric Epidemiology, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email
zammits@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44(0) 29 2068 8435
Dr Jiaxiang Zhang

Dr Jiaxiang Zhang

Senior Lecturer

Email
zhangj73@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone
+44 (0)29 2087 0471