Skip to content

Senior academic staff

Our senior academic staff work across our research themes to investigate the causes of mental health problems and neurodegenerative disorders.

Richard Anney

Richard Anney

Senior Lecturer in Bioinformatics, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
anneyr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 208 8390
Professor Jonathan Bisson

Professor Jonathan Bisson

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
bissonji@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8486
Professor Derek Blake

Professor Derek Blake

Professor of Neuroscience, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
blakedj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8468
Dr Nick Bray

Dr Nick Bray

Reader, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
brayn3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8368
Dr Xavier Caseras

Dr Xavier Caseras

Senior Lecturer, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
caserasx@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8437
Professor Stephan Collishaw

Professor Stephan Collishaw

Personal Chair, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
collishaws@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8436
Dr William Davies

Dr William Davies

Senior Lecturer, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
daviesw4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0152
Dr Arianna Di Florio

Dr Arianna Di Florio

Clinical Senior Lecturer, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
diflorioa@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8418
Professor Vincent Dion

Professor Vincent Dion

Professor, Dementia Research Institute

Email:
dionv@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2251 0893
Professor Valentina Escott-Price

Professor Valentina Escott-Price

Professor, Dementia Research Institute

Email:
escottpricev@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8429
Professor William Gray

Professor William Gray

Professor of Functional Neurosurgery, Neuroscience & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
graywp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8491
Professor Jeremy Hall

Professor Jeremy Hall

Director and Research Theme Lead, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
hallj10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0) 29 20 688 342
Professor Neil Harrison

Professor Neil Harrison

Chair, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
harrisonn4@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Matt Hill

Dr Matt Hill

Lecturer, Dementia Research Institute

Email:
hillm6@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8464
Professor Peter Holmans

Professor Peter Holmans

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
holmanspa@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8427
Dr Anthony Isles

Dr Anthony Isles

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
islesar1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8467
Professor Ian Jones

Professor Ian Jones

Director/Clinical Professor, National Centre for Mental Health

Email:
jonesir1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8327
Professor Lesley Jones

Professor Lesley Jones

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
jonesl1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8469
Professor George Kirov

Professor George Kirov

Clinical Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
kirov@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8465
Professor Meng Li

Professor Meng Li

Chair in Stem Cell Neurobiology, Neuroscience & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
lim26@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2068 8345
Professor Michael O'Donovan

Professor Michael O'Donovan

Deputy Director/Clinical Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
odonovanmc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8320
Professor Sir Michael Owen

Professor Sir Michael Owen

Director of MRC Centre for Neuropsychiatric Genetics and Genomics; Director/Clinical Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neuroscience and Emeritus Director of the Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
owenmj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0) 29 2068 8320
Dr Kathryn Peall

Dr Kathryn Peall

Clinical Senior Lecturer, Neuroscience & Mental Health Research Institute

Welsh speaking
Email:
peallkj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8338
Dr Andrew Pocklington

Dr Andrew Pocklington

Senior Lecturer, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
pocklingtonaj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8428
Dr Aled Rees

Dr Aled Rees

Reader, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
reesda@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2074 5002
Dr Frances Rice

Dr Frances Rice

Reader, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
ricef2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8384
Professor Neil Robertson

Professor Neil Robertson

Clinical Professor of Neurology, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
robertsonnp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2074 5403
Professor Anne Rosser

Professor Anne Rosser

Professor of Clinical Neuroscience, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
rosserae@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6654
Dr Eunju Jenny Shin

Dr Eunju Jenny Shin

Lecturer, Neuroscience & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
shine@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8332
Dr Gaynor Ann Smith

Dr Gaynor Ann Smith

Lecturer, Dementia Research Institute

Email:
smithga@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Emma Tallantyre

Dr Emma Tallantyre

Clinical Senior Lecturer, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neuroscience

Email:
tallantyreec@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2074 5403
Professor Pamela Taylor

Professor Pamela Taylor

Chair in Psychiatry, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
taylorpj2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8432
Professor Anita Thapar

Professor Anita Thapar

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
thapar@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8478
Dr Valentina Tomassini

Dr Valentina Tomassini

Clinical Senior Lecturer, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
tomassiniv@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2074 5118
Marianne van den Bree

Marianne van den Bree

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
vandenbreemb@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8433
Professor James Walters

Professor James Walters

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
waltersjt@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8434
Professor Simon Ward

Professor Simon Ward

Director, Medicines Discovery Institute

Welsh speaking
Email:
wards10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6984
Caleb Webber

Caleb Webber

Professor, Dementia Research Institute

Email:
webberc4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0890
Professor Lawrence Wilkinson

Professor Lawrence Wilkinson

Scientific Director, Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute.

Email:
wilkinsonl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2068 8461
Professor Julie Williams

Professor Julie Williams

Director, Dementia Research Institute

Email:
williamsj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2068 8326
Professor Nigel Williams

Professor Nigel Williams

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
williamsnm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8466
Dr Malik Zaben

Dr Malik Zaben

Lecturer, Neuroscience & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
zabenm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 02920 688 333
Professor Stanley Zammit

Professor Stanley Zammit

Professor of Psychiatric Epidemiology, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
zammits@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2068 8435