Skip to content

EU applicants

Cardiff University is an international community that values the staff and students that come to study and work here from around the world.

We have 7,000 international students and 6,800 staff from 78 countries. Our alumni reach across 180 countries. This diversity fosters creativity and innovation and is an important part of our culture. This will not change.

The formal notification of the UK’s intention to withdraw from the EU was triggered on 29 March 2017 but the UK will remain a member of the EU for two years until the process is complete. This means that there will be no immediate change for universities, staff or students.

In addition, the UK government has announced that EU nationals who arrive in the UK during the transition period after Brexit will be eligible for indefinite leave to remain.

Those who arrive after the UK is due to leave the EU in March 2019 will be required to register if they wish to stay in the UK for longer than three months. They will then be allowed to stay for five years and qualify to apply for indefinite leave to remain in the UK.

The announcement should provide greater certainty for EU students and university staff arriving during this post-Brexit transition period.

Cardiff University is an international, ambitious and successful university. We are also a friendly university. We hope to welcome you here soon.