Skip to main content

Academic staff

Picture of Eyad Abuali

Dr Eyad Abuali

Research Associate in Islamic History and Civilisation

Telephone
+44 29225 11684
Email
AbualiE@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Mohammed Ahmed

Dr Mohammed Ahmed

Lecturer in British Muslim Studies

Telephone
+44 29208 75634
Email
AhmedMA1@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Mansur Ali

Dr Mansur Ali

Senior Lecturer in Islamic Studies

Telephone
+44 29208 76297
Email
AliMM1@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Nicholas Baker-Brian

Dr Nicholas Baker-Brian

Reader in New Testament and Early Christian Studies

Telephone
+44 29208 74000 ext 77404
Email
Baker-BrianNJ1@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Eleanor Barnett

Dr Eleanor Barnett

Leverhulme Early Career Fellow

Telephone
+44 29225 14678
Email
BarnettE2@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Jenny Benham

Dr Jenny Benham

Reader in Medieval History

Telephone
+44 29208 75648
Email
BenhamJ@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Julia Best

Dr Julia Best

Senior Lecturer in Archaeology, Director of Impact and Engagement

Telephone
+44 29225 12373
Email
BestJ3@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Lloyd Bowen

Dr Lloyd Bowen

Reader in Early Modern and Welsh History, Director of Recruitment and Admissions

Telephone
+44 29208 76284
Email
BowenL@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Guy Bradley

Professor Guy Bradley

Professor of Roman and Early Italian History, Director of International

Telephone
+44 29208 76283
Email
BradleyGJ@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Simon Brodbeck

Simon Brodbeck

Professor of Religious Studies

Telephone
+44 29208 76486
Email
BrodbeckSP@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Mark Bryant

Mark Bryant

Development Officer for the Centre for the Study of Islam in the UK (Islam-UK)

Telephone
+44 29208 70121
Email
BryantMW@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Andrew Buck

Dr Andrew Buck

Lecturer in Medieval History

Telephone
+44 29225 12378
Email
BuckA@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Darren Carpenter

Darren Carpenter

Administrative Officer

Telephone
+44 29206 88579
Email
CarpenterD4@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Louise Child

Dr Louise Child

Lecturer in Religious Studies

Telephone
+44 29208 74039
Email
ChildL@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Emily Cock

Dr Emily Cock

Senior Lecturer in Early Modern History

Telephone
+44 29208 76104
Email
CockE@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Sarah Creed

Sarah Creed

Administrative Officer

Telephone
+44 29208 74929
Email
CreedS@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Mayu Crowther

Mayu Crowther

Administrative Officer

Telephone
+44 29225 11693
Email
CrowtherM1@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Oliver Davis

Dr Oliver Davis

Senior Lecturer, CAER Heritage Project Co-director

Telephone
+44 29225 10215
Email
DavisOP@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Max Deeg

Professor Max Deeg

Professor in Buddhist Studies

Telephone
+44 29208 76899
Email
DeegM1@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Karen Dempsey

Dr Karen Dempsey

Lecturer in Medieval Archaeology

Telephone
+44 29225 14035
Email
DempseyK@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Ian Dennis

Ian Dennis

Archaeological Illustrator & Graphic Designer

Telephone
+44 29208 70065
Email
DennisIT@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Flint Dibble

Dr Flint Dibble

Marie-Sklowdowska Curie Research Fellow

Email
DibbleW@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of David Doddington

Dr David Doddington

Senior Lecturer in North American History

Telephone
+44 29208 74251
Email
DoddingtonD@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of James Dowden

James Dowden

Administrative Officer

Telephone
+44 29206 88585
Email
DowdenJ4@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Nicola Emmerson

Dr Nicola Emmerson

Reader in Conservation, Director of Postgraduate Research

Telephone
+44 29208 74581
Email
EmmersonNJ@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Federica Ferlanti

Dr Federica Ferlanti

Lecturer in Modern Chinese History

Telephone
+44 29208 75649
Email
FerlantiF@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Leah Fowler

Leah Fowler

Head Of Schools Pa And Hr Officer

Email
FowlerL4@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Maria Fragoulaki

Dr Maria Fragoulaki

Senior Lecturer in Ancient Greek History

Telephone
+44 29208 70558
Email
FragoulakiM@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Anne-Marie Gay

Anne-Marie Gay

Teaching Associate

Email
GayA@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Danielle George

Danielle George

Taught Administrator

Telephone
+44 29208 74470
Email
GeorgeD7@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Sophie Gilliat-Ray

Professor Sophie Gilliat-Ray

Professor in Religious and Theological Studies, Head of Islam UK Centre

Telephone
+44 29225 10830
Email
Gilliat-RayS@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Kate Gilliver

Professor Kate Gilliver

Professor in Ancient History and Religion

Telephone
+44 29208 74258
Email
GilliverK@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Fay Glinister

Dr Fay Glinister

Lecturer in Roman History

Telephone
+44 29225 14581
Email
GlinisterF@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Jaclyn Granick

Dr Jaclyn Granick

Senior Lecturer in Modern Jewish History

Telephone
+44 29225 11741
Email
GranickJ@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Clare Griffiths

Professor Clare Griffiths

Professor of Modern History, Head of History

Telephone
+44 29208 75498
Email
GriffithsCVJ@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Kirsty Harding

Kirsty Harding

Graphic Designer and Digital Archaeological Illustrator

Email
HardingK8@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of James Hegarty

Professor James Hegarty

Professor of Sanskrit and Indian Religions

Telephone
+44 29208 70103
Email
HegartyJ@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Mary Heimann

Professor Mary Heimann

Professor of Modern History

Telephone
+44 29208 75157
Email
HeimannM@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Robert Heimburger

Dr Robert Heimburger

Lecturer in Christian Ethics and Theology

Email
Heimburger@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Rachel Herrmann

Dr Rachel Herrmann

Senior Lecturer in Modern American History

Telephone
+44 29208 75647
Email
HerrmannR@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Laura Hogg

Laura Hogg

Archaeological Illustrator

Email
HoggL1@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Meredith Hood

Meredith Hood

Graduate Demonstrator

Email
HoodMH@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Dylan Johnson

Dr Dylan Johnson

Lecturer in Ancient Near ​Eastern History

Telephone
+44 29208 76874
Email
JohnsonD9@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Bronach Kane

Dr Bronach Kane

Senior Lecturer in Medieval History

Telephone
+44 29208 75620
Email
KaneB@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Asma Khan

Dr Asma Khan

Research Associate in British Muslim Studies

Telephone
+44 29208 75069
Email
asmakhan@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Jasmine Kilburn-Toppin

Dr Jasmine Kilburn-Toppin

Lecturer in Early Modern History

Telephone
+44 29208 70414
Email
Kilburn-ToppinJ@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Nicki Kindersley

Dr Nicki Kindersley

Senior Lecturer in African History

Telephone
+44 29208 79901
Email
KindersleyN1@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Dimitra Kokkini Robson

Dr Dimitra Kokkini Robson

Lecturer in Greek and Latin

Telephone
+44 29225 12376
Email
KokkiniD@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Matt Lee

Matt Lee

Administrator

Telephone
+44 29225 14802
Email
LeeW9@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Marion Loeffler

Dr Marion Loeffler

Reader in Welsh History and History

Telephone
+44 29225 14964
Email
LoefflerM@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Helena Lopes

Dr Helena Lopes

Lecturer in Modern Asian History

Telephone
+44 29225 12106
Email
LopesH@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Josef Lossl

Professor Josef Lossl

Professor of Historical Theology and Intellectual History

Telephone
+44 29208 75499
Email
LosslJ@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Hongjiao Ma

Dr Hongjiao Ma

Research Associate

Telephone
+44 29225 11673
Email
MaH15@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Eve MacDonald

Dr Eve MacDonald

Senior Lecturer in Ancienc history

Telephone
+44 29208 79682
Email
MacDonaldG1@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Jan Machielsen

Dr Jan Machielsen

Reader in Early Modern History, Director of Research

Telephone
+44 29208 76698
Email
MachielsenJ@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Richard Madgwick

Dr Richard Madgwick

Reader in Archaeological Science

Telephone
+44 29208 74239
Email
MadgwickRD3@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Saira Malik

Dr Saira Malik

Reader in Religious Studies

Telephone
+44 29208 74240
Email
MalikS7@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Sarah Marusek

Dr Sarah Marusek

Social Media and Impact Officer (Centre for the Study of Islam in the UK)

Telephone
+44 29 2251 4957
Email
MarusekS@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Holly Mills

Holly Mills

Administrative Officer

Telephone
+44 29208 70903
Email
MillsH12@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Leia Mion

Dr Leia Mion

Research Associate

Telephone
+44 29225 11654
Email
MionL@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Jacqueline Mulville

Professor Jacqueline Mulville

Professor in Bioarchaeology, Head of Archaeology and Conservation

Telephone
+44 29208 74247
Email
MulvilleJA@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Michael Munnik

Dr Michael Munnik

Senior Lecturer in Social Science Theories and Methods, Director of Learning and Teaching

Telephone
+44 29208 75646
Email
MunnikM@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Gavin Murray-Miller

Dr Gavin Murray-Miller

Reader in Modern European History

Telephone
+44 29208 76715
Email
Murray-MillerG@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Eric Nordgren

Dr Eric Nordgren

Lecturer in Conservation

Telephone
+44 29208 79658
Email
NordgrenEA@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Ciara O'Brien Butler

Dr Ciara O'Brien Butler

Academic and research staff

Email
ButlerCO@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Phil Parkes

Phil Parkes

Reader in Conservation, Teaching and Scholarship Co-Lead

Telephone
+44 29208 75628
Email
Parkes@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Tetyana Pavlush

Dr Tetyana Pavlush

Lecturer in Modern European History

Telephone
+44 29225 12380
Email
PavlushT@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Asta Rand

Dr Asta Rand

Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow

Telephone
+44 (0)29 2251 1696
Email
RandA@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Ian Rapley

Dr Ian Rapley

Senior Lecturer in East Asian History

Telephone
+44 29208 74260
Email
RapleyI@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Louis Rawlings

Dr Louis Rawlings

Senior Lecturer in Ancient History, Safety, Health and Environment and Facilities Lead

Telephone
+44 29208 75744
Email
Rawlings@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Leah Reynolds

Dr Leah Reynolds

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Email
ReynoldsL10@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of David Roberts

Dr David Roberts

Senior Lecturer in Roman Archaeology and History

Telephone
+44 29225 11828
Email
RobertsD30@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of James Ryan

Dr James Ryan

Reader in Modern European (Russian) History

Telephone
+44 29208 76511
Email
RyanJ5@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Andy Seaman

Dr Andy Seaman

Lecturer in Early Medieval Archaeology

Telephone
+44 29225 12375
Email
SeamanA@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Haroon Sidat

Dr Haroon Sidat

Research Associate

Telephone
+44 29208 75650
Email
SidatHE@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Michael Smith

Mr Michael Smith

Research Student/Graduate Tutor

Email
SmithMP5@cardiff.ac.uk
No picture for Megan Stoddart

Megan Stoddart

Administrative Officer

Telephone
+44 29208 79842
Email
StoddartM1@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Rebecca Thomas

Dr Rebecca Thomas

Lecturer in Medieval History

Telephone
+44 29225 12385
Email
ThomasR165@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Riyaz Timol

Dr Riyaz Timol

Research Fellow in British Muslim Studies

Telephone
+44 29208 74884
Email
TimolR1@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Laurence Totelin

Dr Laurence Totelin

Professor in Ancient History, Head of Ancient History and Religion

Telephone
+44 29208 75631
Email
TotelinLM@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Shaun Tougher

Professor Shaun Tougher

Professor of Late Roman and Byzantine History

Telephone
+44 29208 76228
Email
TougherSF@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Ashley Walsh

Dr Ashley Walsh

Senior Lecturer in Early Modern History

Telephone
+44 29208 79731
Email
WalshA6@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Stephanie Ward

Dr Stephanie Ward

Senior Lecturer in Modern Welsh History, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Lead

Telephone
+44 29208 75277
Email
WardSJ2@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Ruth Westgate

Dr Ruth Westgate

Senior Lecturer in Ancient History and Archaeology

Telephone
+44 29208 76105
Email
WestgateR@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of James Whitley

Professor James Whitley

Professor in Mediterranean Archaeology

Telephone
+44 29208 76681
Email
WhitleyA@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Lucy Wilkinson

Lucy Wilkinson

PRIMO Project Director

Telephone
+44 29225 11805
Email
WilkinsonL7@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Matthew Wilkinson

Professor Matthew Wilkinson

Professor of Religion in Public Life

Telephone
+44 29225 11806
Email
WilkinsonM8@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Mark Williams

Dr Mark Williams

Reader in Early Modern History

Telephone
+44 29208 70403
Email
WilliamsM64@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Martin Wright

Martin Wright

Senior Lecturer in History

Telephone
+44 29208 70830
Email
WrightMK@cardiff.ac.uk
Picture of Esther Wright

Dr Esther Wright

Senior Lecturer in Digital History, Digital Strategy Lead

Telephone
+44 29208 74742
Email
WrightE11@cardiff.ac.uk