Ewch i’r prif gynnwys
Yr Athro Seralynne Vann

Yr Athro Seralynne Vann


Yr Ysgol Seicoleg

+44 (0)29 2087 6253
Adeilad y Tŵr, Plas y Parc, Caerdydd, CF10 3AT
Ar gael fel goruchwyliwr ôl-raddedig

Research summary

My main area of interest is understanding how our brains support memory and how these processes can break down in the cases of amnesia and dementia. A particular interest is how regions beyond the hippocampal formation contribute to memory with a specific focus of midbrain and medial diencephalic regions as well as the retrosplenial cortex. Our work has highlighted the importance of ascending projections from the midbrain and medial diencephalon for normal memory function. My research group uses a comparative approach to address the key question and a multi-level analysis ranging from cellular-level processes to behaviour. We use a number of convergent techniques including in vivo imaging, immunohistochemistry, lesions/inactivations/ electrophysiology, MR imaging, neuropsychology.

Undergraduate education

1997  BSc University of Sussex, Experimental Psychology

Postgraduate education

2001 Ph.D. Cardiff University, Thesis: Neural Systems Underlying Spatial Memory
Supervisor: Professor John Aggleton
MRC Studentship

Invited Talks

Invited symposium talk at the Forum of European Neurosciences, Amsterdam, July 2010.

Invited symposium talk at Federation of European Societies of Neuropsychology, September, 2010

Invited symposium talk at the British Neuroscience Association national meeting, Liverpool, April 2009.

Invited symposium talk for the opening of the Institute of Behavioural Neuroscience, UCL, December 2008.

Invited departmental talk at School of Psychology, Oxford University, October 2008.

Invited symposium talk at British Association for Cognitive Neuroscience conference, Swansea, September 2008.

Invited symposium talk at European Brain and Behaviour Society, Trieste, Italy, September 2007.

Invited symposium talk at International Society of Behavioral Neuroscience, St Kitts, Caribbean, 2005.

Invited Reviewer for the Following Journals/Grant Bodies

European Journal of Neuroscience

Behavioural Brain Research


Pharmacology Biochemistry and Behavior

BBSRC Animal Sciences grant application

Wellcome Trust grant application

Panel Member

Panel member for Norwegian Research Council (Neurobiology panel)

Doctora Viva Voce Examinations

Sze Chai Kwok, Psychology Department, Oxford University (supervisor Dr Mark Buckley; Internal examiner Prof David Gaffan). October 2008.

David Bett, Psychology, School of Natural Sciences, University of Stirling (supervisor Dr Paul Dudchenko); December 2011.





















Cardiff University Incoming Visiting Fellows & International Collaboration Seedcorn 2016-17, (£5,500); Research collaboration in Copenhagen. 

Welsh Government Equipment Grant “Miniature microscopes to image neuronal ensembles in models of neuropsychiatric disorders”,£210,000, 2015 (Riccardo Brambilla, Vincenzo Crunelli, Frank Sengpiel, Mark Good, Jeremy Hall, John Aggleton, Kerrie Thomas)

BBSRC Research Grant “Stimulus processing and control by the retrosplenial cortex” (John Aggleton and Frank Sengpiel) £443,200; 3 years from 1st October 2014.

Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellowship  “Importance of mammillary body connections for memory”, (£1,383,509;   January 2011-November 2018).

BBSRC Research Grant “Testing 'translator' versus 'integrator' models of  retrosplenial cortex function” (£250,000, 3 years from 1st January  2011)

Wellcome Trust “Cellular substrates supporting the mnemonic functions of  Papez’ circuit” (John Aggleton, Shane O’Mara, Jonathan  Erichsen, £205,032; 3 years from 1st November 2010)

Wellcome Trust Research Grant “Why  are there parallel hippocampal – diencephalic pathways for event memory” (John  Aggleton, Shane O’Mara, Jonathan Erichsen, £297,015; 3 years from 1st  April 2007).

BBSRC Research Grant “Identifying the roles  of the granular and dysgranular retrosplenial cortices in spatial memory”  (Principal Investigator; £278,845; 3 years from 1st December 2005).

BBSRC David Phillips Fellowship, £377,602  (January 2005-December 2009).

Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkins Fellowship  (awarded in 2004 but not taken up).

BBSRC Equipment Grant  “Multidisciplinary core facility for microscopic image analysis and  three-dimensional stereology”  (Dr JT  Erichsen, Prof M Boulton, Dr J Guggenheim, Dr J Morgan, Dr A Quantock, Prof T  Wess, Prof J Aggleton, Prof S Killcross, Dr S Vann, Prof V Crunelli, Prof K  Fox;  £69,864, awarded 1/1/06).

Research group

Current researchers based in Cardiff University include:
Dr Beth Coad

Dr Michal Milczarek

Dr James Perry
Mrs Heather Philliips

Research collaborators

Professor John Aggleton, Cardiff University
Professor Shane O’Mara, Trinity College, Dublin

Professor Frank Sengpiel, Cardiff University
Dr Mike O’Sullivan, Cardiff University