Ewch i’r prif gynnwys

Annual prize-giving celebrates student excellence

3 Tachwedd 2016

Image of some of the 2016 prize winners
Some of the 2016 UG prize winners

Cardiff Business School hosts 2016 Undergraduate Prize-Giving celebration.

Undergraduate students were recognised for their academic achievements and placement success at the 2016 Undergraduate Prize-giving, held at the Postgraduate Teaching Centre, Tuesday 1 November 2016.

The evening was hosted by Professor Roy Chandler, while Professor Martin Kitchener, Dean of Cardiff Business School, presented the prizes to the recipients.

Maximilian Schulze Wenning, a third year Economics and Finance student who went on to win six prizes, delivered a passionate student address and vote of thanks.

Prizes are offered to first, second and final year students in a range of categories, from best performance within individual modules to best student awards across degree programmes.

Image of student delivering the student address
Maximilian Schulze Wenning delivers the student address

This year, the School presented more than 50 awards in total and inaugurated two new awards - Placement Student of the Year (sponsored by Welsh Financial Services) and Public Value Placement Student of the Year (sponsored by Cardiff International Airport). These were won by Timothy Taylor and Benjamin Land respectively. Timothy spent five months on placement at TargetGroup before completing a summer internship with HSBC while Benjamin undertook a hugely successful placement with the NHS in Wales.

Elizabeth Pescud (who scooped three prizes in total) was also recognised for placement success, specifically the BSc Business Management with Integrated Placement Programme. Elizabeth is now on a year's professional placement with Deloitte Consulting in Zurich.

Several other students received recognition in multiple categories alongside Maximilian and Elizabeth, including Ryan James Farr (five prizes) and Rachel Lizhi Ng (three prizes).

As well as a certificate of achievement, winning students also received a financial reward. Monetary gifts were provided by corporate sponsors, or through the nine prize funds available, many invested in memory of distinguished professors and academics.

Sponsors for the 2016 awards included: ACCA, Black Horse, Broomfield & Alexander, Cardiff Business Club, Community Foundation in Wales, GMAC UK/GM Financial, ICAEW, Julian Hodge Bank, ONS, PwC, Faithful & Gould, South Wales Chartered Accountants, Welsh Financial Services and Cardiff International Airport.

Congratulations to all of the 2016 prize winners.

View the 2016 Undergraduate Prize-giving programme for a full list of winners.

Rhannu’r stori hon

Mae'r Ysgol yn un o ysgolion busnes a rheoli blaengar y byd, sy’n canolbwyntio’n ddwys ar ymchwil a rheoli, gydag enw da am ragoriaeth i greu gwelliannau economaidd a chymdeithasol.