Ewch i’r prif gynnwys

New Year Honours

7 January 2014

Derek Jones KCB and First Minister of Wales, Carwyn Jones
Derek Jones KCB with First Minister of Wales, Carwyn Jones.

Individuals from the Cardiff University community have been recognised in the annual Queen's New Year Honours.

This year's list sees four Cardiff graduates being recognised for their achievements.

Permanent Secretary of the Welsh Government, Derek William Jones receives a Knighthood for public service to economic and social conditions in Wales. Mr Jones graduated with a BA in Philosophy from Cardiff University & worked at the University as director of business and strategic partnerships (2008-2012).

John Rudolf Gerrish receives the British Empire Medal for services to the community in Dilwyn, Herefordshire.                     

Marcus Charles Killick, Chief Executive Officer of the Financial Services Commission in Gibraltar is awarded the OBE for services to the regulation of financial services in Gibraltar.

Solomon Fubara received an MBE for services to the Black, Minority and Ethnic community in the South West.

Cardiff University Honorary Fellow 2013 Kevin McCloud MBE.
Cardiff University Honorary Fellow 2013 Kevin McCloud MBE.

University Honorary Fellow and television presenter Kevin McCloud is also awarded an MBE for services to Sustainable Design and Energy Saving Property Refurbishment.

Professor Susan Ellen Bale a visiting Professor in the School of Medicine and Assistant Nurse director, Research and Development, Aneurin Bevan Local Health Board is awarded an OBE for services to Nursing and Nursing Research.

Additionally, His Honour Gruffydd Huw Morgan Daniel, a member of University Court becomes a Commander of the Royal Victorian Order (CVO) for his services as Lord-Lieutenant of Gwynedd.

Vice-Chancellor, Professor Colin Riordan said: "It is inspiring to see members of the Cardiff University community being recognised in this way. Whether it is for success in their professional field or for contribution to their community, we are justifiably very proud of our graduates and their achievements. On behalf of the University, I would like to congratulate the individuals who have received honours for their contribution and dedication."

Rhannu’r stori hon