Skip to main content


A useful glossary of terms in relation to Cardiff University's Brexit preparations.

EU countries

The EU countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK.


The EEA includes EU countries and also Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.


Switzerland is neither an EU nor EEA member but is part of the single market - this means Swiss nationals have the same rights to live and work in the UK as other EEA nationals.

EEA EFTA states

The EEA EFTA states include Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. These citizens will fall within the scope of the Settlement Status process.