Skip to main content

2017 Honorary Fellows

A football manager, an equality campaigner, a managing director for a world-leading jet engine provider and the founder of are among those who were honoured at our degree ceremonies in 2017.

Chris Coleman

Chris Coleman enjoyed a career as a professional footballer before becoming Wales Manager in January 2012. He led Wales to the semi-finals of UEFA EURO 2016, the first major football tournament for the nation since 1958, and to their highest ever FIFA World Ranking position.


Dr Martin Faulkes

Dr Martin Faulkes founded his educational Trust in 1998, which aims to inspire young people in science and maths. He established the Faulkes Telescope Project at Cardiff University, a major international science programme. He is Chairman of VolitionRx Limited, which is developing simple blood-based tests to diagnose a range of cancers.

Professor Faulkes

Cerys Furlong BSc MSc

Cerys Furlong is Chief Executive of Chwarae Teg the gender equality charity. A passionate campaigner for equality and social justice Cerys has advocated for better representation of women in public life, in business and across all parts of Welsh society.

Cerys Furlong

Dr Phil George

Dr Phil George is Chair of the Arts Council of Wales. Previously he was Creative Director and co-founder of Green Bay Media, and Head of Arts, Music and Features at BBC Wales. Phil was the Founding Chair of National Theatre Wales, and served on the UK Government’s Dowling Review.


The Rev Roy Jenkins

The Rev Roy Jenkins is a journalist and Baptist minister, and has been a BBC broadcaster for more than 40 years. He presents the BBC Radio Wales programme All Things Considered, and has campaigned against torture and other human rights abuses since his student days in Cardiff.

Reverend Roy

Philip J. Jennings

Philip J. Jennings is General Secretary of UNI Global Union. A global union pioneer, his work has led to a transformation of global union work from supply-chain justice, notably the Bangladesh Accord on Fire and Building Safety, through global agreements with multinationals, to union solidarity

Philip Jennings

Sir Derek Jones

Sir Derek Jones was a central figure in the operation of devolved government in Wales. Currently Chair of the Prince's Trust in Wales, his previous roles include Permanent Secretary of the Welsh Government and member of the UK Civil Service Board and Senior Leadership Committee


Dr Alan J Lewis, BSc, PhD

Dr Alan J Lewis was involved in the development of Venlafaxine, a fast acting antidepressant and Rapamycin, a novel immune suppressant. Currently he is CEO at DiaVacs, focusing on trying to cure Type 1 Diabetes.


Martin Lewis OBE

Martin Lewis is founder and Chair of, and the Money and Mental Health Policy Institute. He has spearheaded major financial justice campaigns including bank charges and PPI reclaiming and a successful campaign to get financial education on the national curriculum.


La-Chun Lindsay

La-Chun Lindsay is Managing Director of GE Aviation Wales. She previously led the assembly, test and overhaul plant at GE Aviation's Lynn site in Massachusetts. Before joining GE Aviation, she held the role of Vice President, Field Services Group in GE Capital and a variety of global roles within GE's Corporate Audit Staff. She graduated from Clemson University with a bachelor of science in Ceramic Engineering.


Rosaleen (Rosie) Moriarty-Simmonds OBE BSc (Hons)

Rosaleen (Rosie) Moriarty-Simmonds is a disabled businesswoman and equality campaigner. A forthright and passionate speaker, Rosie has worked at the highest level in both the public and private sector to make significant changes in attitudes to disability.


Dr Drew Nelson, OBE, DSc, FREng, FLSW

Dr Drew Nelson is CEO of IQE Plc, the largest global supplier of advanced semiconductor wafers. He has been actively involved in government and industry advisory groups, and in 2001 was awarded an OBE for services to the Electronics Industry.


Dr Bhanu Ramaswamy OBE

Dr Bhanu Ramaswamy  is an Independent Physiotherapy Consultant specialising in elder rehabilitation and neurology. She was one of the first physiotherapists to gain a non-medical prescribing qualification and received a Fellowship of the Chartered Society of Physiotherapy.


Rob Wainwright

Rob Wainwright is Director of Europol. Having overseen Europol’s transition from intergovernmental organisation to EU agency status in 2010, Rob secured the establishment at Europol of the European Cybercrime Centre, the European Counter Terrorism Centre, and the European Migrant Smuggling Centre.


Gary Younge

Gary Younge is editor-at-large for The Guardian. An award-winning journalist, author and broadcaster, he reported from America for 12 years before returning to Britain in 2015. A campaigner for social justice and anti-racism he has reported from Europe, Africa, The US and the Caribbean and writes a monthly column for the Nation magazine in New York.