MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF CARDIFF UNIVERSITY COUNCIL HELD ON FRIDAY 22 OCTOBER 2021 VIA ZOOM AT 9.30AM

- Present: Professor Stuart Palmer (Chair), Professor Colin Riordan, Professor Rudolf Allemann, Professor Rachel Ashworth, Ricardo Calil, Hannah Doe, Gina Dunn, Judith Fabian, Professor Dame Janet Finch, Jan Juillerat, Dr Joanna Newman, Dr Pretty Sagoo, John Shakeshaft, David Simmons, Judge Ray Singh, Dr Janet Wademan, Professor Damian Walford Davies, Professor Stuart Walker, Agnes Xavier-Phillips.
- Attendees: Katy Dale, Rashi Jain, Vari Jenkins [Minutes] and Ruth Robertson

1966 WELCOME

1966.1 All were welcomed to the meeting;

1967 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

1967.1 Apologies were received from Paul Baston, Chris Jones, Professor Kim Graham, Professor Ken Hamilton, Michael Hampson, Claire Morgan, Claire Sanders.

1968 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

NOTED

1968.1 that no conflicts of interest were reported.

The meeting was chaired by the Vice-Chair of Council for item 4.

1969 RECOMMENDATION FROM NOMINATIONS SUB-COMMITTEE FOR SUCCESSOR TO THE CHAIR OF COUNCIL

Received Paper 21/169C Recommendation from Nominations Sub-Committee for successor to the Chair of Council. Jan Juillerat, Vice-Chair of Council, spoke to this item as Chair of the Nominations Sub-Committee.

NOTED

- 1969.1 the extensive search process as set out in the paper, which culminated in a shortlist of three candidates selected for interview using the person specification approved by Council;
- 1969.2 that the recommended candidate demonstrated a high level of engagement with the process, and understood and articulated the challenges, opportunities, and ambitions of the University;
- 1969.3 that the recommended candidate demonstrated a strong commitment to board, student and staff diversity, with a values driven approach supported by forensic

metrics. There was a strong emphasis on ensuring that Cardiff University was as inclusive as possible, across a broad range of areas;

- 1969.4 that there will be a targeted induction programme to support and impart information about the University and its governance arrangement, which will include the research activity of the University;
- 1969.5 that Perrett Laver had conducted initial due diligence checks, with further due diligence including social media checks, being undertaken prior to inviting candidates to interview. Potential conflicts of interest have been reviewed by the University Secretary, discussed with the recommended candidate and there are safeguards in place if there are any future matters relating to a previously awarded grant, which had been disclosed as part of the process;
- 1969.6 [REDACTED]
- 1969.7 that in accordance with Council's resolution from July 2021, the current Vice-Chair's term of office will run until 31 July 2022 to provide support to the new Chair and provide continuity.

RESOLVED

1969.8 to approve the appointment of Patrick Younge to the role of lay member and Chair of Council, to succeed Professor Stuart Palmer, from 1 January 2022 for a first term of office of four years until 31 December 2025.