AHRC South, West and Wales Doctoral Training Partnership

Cardiff University is a partner in the AHRC South, West and Wales Doctoral Training Partnership (SWW DTP).

The SWW DTP offers postgraduate studentships and training designed to prepare a new generation of professional researchers in the arts and humanities for careers in both academia and the fast-developing cultural sector.

The training on offer puts a premium on collaboration between our eight member universities, across disciplines, and with our professional partner organisations.

Students will be supported by a co-supervisory team based in Cardiff University and another of our member universities, and will have access to the Partnership’s collective resources and training opportunities.

Besides Cardiff University, the Partnership consists of the Universities of Aberystwyth, Bath, Bath Spa, Bristol, Exeter, Reading and Southampton.

Available subjects

The following areas of study are available:

  • Archaeology
  • Celtic Studies
  • Classics and Ancient History
  • Creative Writing
  • Drama, Film and TV
  • English Language and Literature
  • History and History of Art
  • Law
  • Modern Languages
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Theology and Religious Studies.
There are no studentships currently available.

More information

For more information, please see the official South, West and Wales Doctoral Training Partnership website.