Diversity of Catalysis

As the home of the Cardiff Catalysis Institute, the School of Chemistry is a world leader in the teaching and research of catalysis.

Our faculty includes renowned academics specialising in all areas of catalysis. This summer school will give you an insight into the cutting-edge of research on this all-important chemical process.

Our research is focused on finding solutions to current real-world problems, as well as improving catalytic processes already in use. This approach forms the basis of the Diversity of Catalysis Summer School, which provides a through grounding in both theory and practical skills.

In keeping with our varied research, the course content explores the varied presence and application in chemistry of the differing types of catalyst and catalytic applications. Ranging through organic, inorganic, spectroscopic and theoretical chemistry, you will gain a thorough understanding of the integral role catalysts play in chemistry.

Teaching will includes hands-on sessions covering organic synthesis, molecular modelling, homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysis, spectroscopy, dynamics and characterisation.

Download the brochure

The Diversity of Catalysis

15 December 2016

Programme for The Diversity of Catalysis Summer School.

PDF

Preliminary schedule

Please note this is subject to change.

Saturday 15 July 2017Arrival in Cardiff
Sunday 16 July 2017Free time
Monday 17 July 2017Welcome and orientation day
Tuesday 18 July 2017Inorganic/organic synthesis laboratory
lectures
Wednesday 19 July 2017Inorganic/organic synthesis laboratory
lectures
Industrial visit
Thursday 20 July 2017Biological chemistry laboratory
Lectures
Friday 21 July 2017Scenic tour of Welsh beaches
Saturday 22 July 2017Field trips and free time
Sunday 23 July 2017Field trips and free time
Monday 24 July 2017Tour of Cardiff Catalysis Institute
Lectures
Tuesday 25 July 2017Computer modelling laboratory
Lectures
Wednesday 26 July 2017Catalysis laboratory
Lectures
Industrial visit
Thursday 27 July 2017Spectroscopy laboratory lectures
Friday 28 July 2017Course conclusion
Saturday 29 July 2017Departure from Cardiff

Costs

The fee for the Summer School is £1,495.

This includes tuition fees, accommodation, 10 meals per week (breakfast & lunch, Monday to Friday), airport pick up and drop off from Heathrow Airport on fixed dates (pick up is on 15 July, drop off is on 29 July) and excursions organised by Cardiff University (such as Stonehenge and industrial visits).

Contact us

If you have any questions or for more information, please email pse-iss@cardiff.ac.uk.