Sustainable Civil Engineering

Our summer school in civil engineering provides a taste of our highly respected architectural, environmental and civil engineering degree programmes.

The programme addresses contemporary issues in designing and working with structures and the built and natural environments, in both national and international contexts.

Teaching will be delivered on the course through a mixture of keynote lectures, practical activities and site visits. You will have the opportunity to work with world-leading staff from the School of Engineering, as well as figures from industry.

Scheduled free time will allow participants to explore Cardiff and its vibrant culture, providing an experience of life in the UK.The content of the course will help you to develop a sophisticated understanding of the role of engineers in designing, constructing and maintaining the physical environment, including buildings and structures, water supply, flood alleviation, and geotechnical and environmental issues.

Download the brochure

Sustainable Civil Engineering programme

15 December 2016

Programme for Sustainable Civil Engineering Summer School.

PDF

Preliminary schedule

Please note this is subject to change.

Saturday 15 July 2017Arrival in Cardiff
Sunday 16 July 2017Cardiff tour
Monday 17 July 2017Welcome and induction
Tuesday 18 July 2017Lecture: Self-healing concrete
 
Site tour
 
Practical: Concrete mix design and beam fabrication 
Wednesday 19 July 2017Lecture: Design issues with mega-tall structures
 
Design Challenge: Design, make and test a paper bridge or tallest structure
Thursday 20 July 2017Practical: Light structures
 
Practical: Materials
Friday 21 July 2017Industrial site visits
Saturday 22 July 2017Social excursion
Sunday 23 July 2017Cultural visit
Monday 24 July 2017Lecture: Water engineering - future challenges
 
Practical: Fluid Mechanics
Tuesday 25 July 2017Practical: Concrete testing and feedback
 
Design Challenge: Construct a timber frame
Wednesday 26 July 2017Lecture: Environmental Engineering
 
Practical: Environmental laboratory
Thursday 27 July 2017Lecture: Building Information Modelling (BIM) and applications
 
Design challenge testing (including presentation)
Friday 28 July 2017Closing activities
Saturday 29 July 2017Departure from Cardiff

Costs

The fee for the Summer School is £1,495.

This includes tuition fees, accommodation, 10 meals per week (breakfast & lunch, Monday to Friday), airport pick up and drop off from Heathrow Airport on fixed dates (pick up is on 15 July, drop off is on 29 July) and excursions organised by Cardiff University (such as Stonehenge and industrial visits).

Contact us

If you have any questions or for more information, please email pse-iss@cardiff.ac.uk.