Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Honorary SONMS lecturer Joy Jones awarded MBE

19 June 2012

Aneurin Bevan Health Board Clinical Lead and Honorary SONMS lecturer Joy Jones has been awarded an MBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List.

Ms Jones is the Lead Clinical Specialist for tier three eating disorders services for the Aneurin Bevan Health Board. An honorary SONMS lecturer, she provides support for the Collaborative Working in Eating Disorders module.

Ms Jones started work with the Aneurin Bevan Health Board in 1975 and initially specialised in child and adolescent mental health. She developed an interest in eating disorder services and has specialised in this field for 15 years.

Linda Cooper, the School’s Professional Head for Mental Health, led the development of the Collaborative Working in Eating Disorders module in partnership with Ms Jones in 2010. It was the first of its kind in Wales,  and supported the implementation of the  Welsh Government’s Eating Disorders: A Framework for Wales. The module plays a critical role in helping to establish a collaborative working ethos in specialist eating disorders services in Wales.

Linda Cooper said that the School is incredibly proud of Ms Jones being awarded the MBE, a 'very well deserved' recognition of the work Ms Jones has done to develop and promote the provision of appropriate care for people with eating disorders.