Cardiff University and College Union

National Issues

UCU national campaign: Stamp Out Casual Contracts

Ban Bullying and Harassment

Make a Difference

fighting privatisation

Local Issues

Cardiff UCU needs YOU!

Join Cardiff UCU

Local hourly paid and fixed-term contract negotiations


Who we are

Formation of UCU

The University and College Union has been formed by the amalgamation of the Association of University Teachers and NATFHE - The University & College Lecturers' Union.

UCU is the largest trade union and professional association for academics, lecturers, trainers, researchers and academic-related staff working in further and higher education throughout the UK.

The union is now organised to reflect differing higher education funding within the UK. UCU Cymru will deal with HEFCW funding issues.

Cardiff University and College Union is the nationally recognised body representing professionals in Higher and Further Education. UCU is a professional association, and a trade union. We are the representative voice for academic and academic-related staff at Cardiff University.

Cardiff UCU members include academics, researchers, managers, librarians, computer staff, postgraduates who teach and other hourly paid teaching staff, whether on fixed-term or on permanent contracts; whether full-time or part-time. We have a strong core of active members but we always welcome new members and new ideas.


Executive Officers 2014 - 2015

UCU Cardiff Executive Officers

President:Mark Hale

Department: INSRV
Telephone ext: 75435


Vice President : Ben Biggie

Department: INSRV
Telephone ext: 76861



Chair: Phil Parkes

Department: SHARE
Telephone ext: 75628


Secretary: Todd Bailey

Department: PSYCH
Telephone ext: 75375


Treasurer: Joan Wright

Department: INSRV
Telephone ext: 74496


LGBT Officer:Ryan Prout

Department: Modern Languages
Telephone ext:76258
E-mail: Ryan Prout


Equality and Diversity Officer: Jane Henderson

Department: SHARE
Telephone ext: 75629



Pensions Officer: Dave Atkins

Department: INSRV
Telephone ext: 75892




Environment Officer: Paul Rock

Department: INSRV
Telephone ext: 74639


Health & Safety Rep: Andy Skyrme

Department: INSRV
Telephone ext:76867

Learning Rep.: Vacant

Telephone ext:


Membership Officers: Dean Stroud and Steve Davies

Department: SOCSI
Telephone exts:77406/74435



Committee Members 2014 - 2015

Executive Committee Members
Name Department Telephone extension E-mail
Colin Berry BIOSI 74508
Lydia Hayes CLAWS n/a
Michael Jorgenson INSRV 76192
Sanjay Khanna MEDIC 3034
Josh Robinson ENCAP Not available
Arlene SierraMUSIC 74382
Simon Wood REGIS 79428
Chris Yewlett Retired    


School/Directorate Representatives

Cardiff UCU Representatives 2014 - 2015