Cardiff University and College Union

National Issues

UCU national campaign: Stamp Out Casual Contracts

Ban Bullying and Harassment

Make a Difference

fighting privatisation

Local Issues

Cardiff UCU needs YOU!

Join Cardiff UCU

Local hourly paid and fixed-term contract negotiations

 

Who we are

Formation of UCU

The University and College Union has been formed by the amalgamation of the Association of University Teachers and NATFHE - The University & College Lecturers' Union.

UCU is the largest trade union and professional association for academics, lecturers, trainers, researchers and academic-related staff working in further and higher education throughout the UK.

UCU CYMRU
The union is now organised to reflect differing higher education funding within the UK. UCU Cymru will deal with HEFCW funding issues.

Cardiff University and College Union is the nationally recognised body representing professionals in Higher and Further Education. UCU is a professional association, and a trade union. We are the representative voice for academic and academic-related staff at Cardiff University.

Cardiff UCU members include academics, researchers, managers, librarians, computer staff, postgraduates who teach and other hourly paid teaching staff, whether on fixed-term or on permanent contracts; whether full-time or part-time. We have a strong core of active members but we always welcome new members and new ideas.

top

Executive Officers 2013 - 2014

 
UCU Cardiff Executive Officers
 

President: Ben Biggie

Department: INSRV
Telephone ext: 76861
Email:BiggieBL@cardiff.ac.uk

 

Vice President : Mark Hale

Department: INSRV
Telephone ext: 75435
Email: HaleMA@cardiff.ac.uk

 

 

Chair: Ryan Prout

Department: EUROP
Telephone ext: 76258
E-mail:ProutR@cardiff.ac.uk

 

Secretary: Phil Parkes

Department: SHARE
Telephone ext: 75628
E-mail:Parkes@cardiff.ac.uk

 

Treasurer: Joan Wright

Department: INSRV
Telephone ext: 74496
E-mail: Wright@cardiff.ac.uk

 

LGBT Officer: Ryan Prout

Department: EUROP
Telephone ext: 76258
E-mail: ProutR@cardiff.ac.uk

 

Equality and Diversity Officer: Jane Henderson

Department: SHARE
Telephone ext: 75629
E-mail: HendersonLJ@cardiff.ac.uk

 

 

Pensions Officer: Dave Atkins

Department: INSRV
Telephone ext: 75892

E-mail: AtkinsDJ@cardiff.ac.uk

 

 

Environment Officer: Paul Rock

Department: INSRV
Telephone ext: 74639
Email: Rock@cardiff.ac.uk

 

Health & Safety Rep: Andy Skyrme

Department: INSRV
Telephone ext:76867
Email: SkyrmeA1@cardiff.ac.uk

Learning Rep.: Edmund Schluessel

Department: PHYSX
Telephone ext: n/a
Email: SchluesselER@cardiff.ac.uk

 

Membership Officers: Dean Stroud and Steve Davies

Department: SOCSI
Telephone exts:77406/74435
Email:StoudDA1@cardiff.ac.uk
DaviesS27@cardiff.ac.uk

 

top

Committee Members 2013 - 2014

td>
 
Executive Committee Members
Name Department Telephone extension E-mail
John Culling PSYCH 74523 CullingJ@cardiff.ac.uk
Michael Jorgenson INSRV 76192 Jorgenson@cardiff.ac.uk
Sanjay Khanna MEDIC 3034 KhannaS@cardiff.ac.uk
Sue Morgan LEARN   sue-morgan@hotmail.com
Arlene SierraMUSIC 74382 SierraAE@cardiff.ac.uk
Simon Wood REGIS 79428 WoodSN2@cardiff.ac.uk
CO-OPTED
Chris Yewlett Retired    

top