Solid: Earth and Ocean

Our research deals with the composition and dynamic evolution of the Earth's mantle and crust, including its mineral and petroleum resources.

Through a combination of field and 3D seismic data, laboratory investigations and numerical modelling, this research group investigates the composition and dynamic evolution of the Earth's mantle and crust, including the formation of mineral and hydrocarbon deposits, magmatic and hydrothermal processes, geodynamics, solid Earth dynamics, plate tectonics, and the development of sedimentary basins.

Recent research carried out by group members has investigated aspects of continental margins, faulting and hydrothermal deposits, tectonics, global mantle circulation, deformation and related fluids.

Research themes associated with the group include:

We are improving our understanding of tellurium (Te) and selenium (Se) concentration in the Earth's crust, to inform cost-effective and environmental recovery processes through the Te and Se Cycling and Supply (TeaSe) project. (Funding: Natural Environment Research Council (NERC))

Lead researcher

Huw Davies

Professor J Huw Davies

Director of Research

Email:
daviesjh2 @ cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5182

Academic staff

Tiago Alves

Dr Tiago Alves

Senior Lecturer in Earth Sciences

Email:
alvest@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6754
Tom Blenkinsop

Professor Thomas Blenkinsop

Professor in Earth Science

Email:
blenkinsopt@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0232
David Buchs

Dr David Buchs

Lecturer

Email:
buchsd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5313
Wim Degruyter

Dr Wim Degruyter

Lecturer in Geodynamics

Email:
degruyterw@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5751
Ake Fagereng

Dr Ake Fagereng

Reader

Email:
fagerenga@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0760
Andrew Kerr

Dr Andrew Kerr

Reader in Petrology & Director of Postgraduate Research

Email:
kerra@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4578
Sarah LAmbart

Dr Sarah Lambart

COFUND Fellow

Email:
lambarts@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4336
James Lambert-Smith

Dr James Lambert-Smith

Lecturer in Exploration and Resource Geology

Email:
lambert-smithj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4323
Manam solid earth

Dr C. Johan Lissenberg

Senior Lecturer

Email:
lissenbergcj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4327
Manam solid earth

Professor Chris MacLeod

Professor

Email:
macleod@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4332
Wolfgang Mair

Professor Wolfgang Maier

Professor in Earth Science

Email:
maierw@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5382
Manam solid earth

Dr Iain McDonald

Senior Lecturer

Email:
mcdonaldi1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4295
Katie McFall

Dr Katie McFall

Research Associate

Email:
mcfallk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4331
Marc Millet

Dr Marc-Alban Millet

Lecturer in Isotope Geochemistry

Email:
milletm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5124