Living: Earth and Ocean

Life evolved on Earth some 3.5 billion years ago and made major impacts on environmental conditions, which continue today. We study biogeochemical processes today and fossil inferences of their past roles.

Life on Earth has co-evolved with the planet and without life our environment would be very different: little oxygen, high CO2, high temperatures, highly reduced oceans, no oil or gas etc. Microbes drive many of the responsible biogeochemical cycles and we investigate the rates, controls, feedbacks and the organisms involved.

Rocks contain a unique archive of past ecosystems in their fossils, which we study to document the rich history of life on Earth and its environmental impact.

Lead researcher

Paul Pearson

Professor Paul Pearson

Professor

Email:
pearsonp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4579

Academic staff

Zambezi living earth

Dr Liz Bagshaw

Lecturer

Email:
bagshawe@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4488
Zambezi living earth

Dr Chris Berry

Senior Lecturer

Email:
berrycm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6971
Lesley Cherns

Dr Lesley Cherns

Senior Lecturer

Email:
cherns@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4338
Zambezi living earth

Professor Dianne Edwards

Research Professor

Email:
edwardsd2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4264

Dr Yu-Chen Ling

Research Associate

Email:
lingy4@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4928
Zambezi living earth

Dr Rupert Perkins

Senior Lecturer in Marine Biosciences

Email:
perkinsr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5026
Zambezi living earth

Dr Henrik Sass

Senior Lecturer

Email:
sassh@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6001
Dr Sindia Sosdian

Dr Sindia Sosdian

Lecturer

Email:
sosdians@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4330