Julian Hodge Institute of Applied Macroeconomics

In May 1999, Cardiff Business School and Julian Hodge Bank announced a major new initiative, the establishment of the Julian Hodge Institute of Applied Macroeconomics. The main aim of the Institute is to carry out research into the behaviour of the UK economy, and to study in particular its relationship with the other economies of Europe.

This research has been given especial relevance by the ongoing discussions on the extra powers regularly requested by the European Union and also by the recent crisis in the eurozone. The Institute's research work further extends across international trade, money and banking, international finance and econometrics, in a collaboration between around twenty academics, mostly in Cardiff, and some thirty PhD students.

The institute's director since it was founded has been Professor Patrick Minford, of Cardiff Business School, who is also the Economic Adviser to Julian Hodge Bank. Apart from its research projects the institute carries on the forecasting and modelling work which Minford began at Liverpool University and has been based mainly in Cardiff for more than a decade, producing forecasts and policy analysis of the UK and other major economies.

Co-ordinator

Professor Patrick Minford

Professor of Applied Economics

Email:
minfordp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5728

Academic staff

Michael G Arghyrou

Dr Michael G Arghyrou

Reader in Economics

Email:
arghyroum@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5515
David Collie

Professor David Collie

Professor of Economics

Email:
collie@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0) 29 2087 6815
Huw Dixon

Professor Huw Dixon

Professor of Economics

Email:
dixonh@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0) 29 2087 5733

Dr Joshy Z Easaw

Senior Lecturer

Email:
easawj1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
029 2087 6218
James Foreman-Peck

Professor James Foreman-Peck

Head of the Economics Section

Email:
foreman-peckj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
029 2087 6395

Dr Vo Phuong Mai Le

Senior Lecturer

Email:
levp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6566

Professor Kul Luintel

Professor of Economics

Email:
luintelk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
029 2087 5534

Professor Kent Matthews

Sir Julian Hodge Professor of Banking and Finance

Email:
matthewsk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
029 2087 5855

Dr David Meenagh

Lecturer in Economics

Email:
meenaghd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
029 2087 5198

Dr Panayiotis M Pourpourides

Lecturer in Economics

Email:
pourpouridesp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0591

Professor Mike Wickens

Professor of Economics

Email:
wickensm1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5722

European Monetary Forum

On 4-5 April 2014 the Julian Hodge Institute of Applied Macroeconomics hosted the European Monetary Forum. View the full programme for this event