Changing: Earth and Ocean

We investigate the causes and consequences of changes in the Earth system, in the ocean, atmosphere and on land, from the geological past into the present and future.

Our studies develop insights into the state, behaviour, and dynamics of Earth's processes through a combination of field research, laboratory experimentation, and numerical modelling.

Aims

We aim to understand the causes and consequences of change in the Earth system including Earth's long history of natural climate variability, processes affecting the surface environment, and how anthropogenic climate change impacts the environment and health.

Current research areas include:

  • Investigating extreme global warming in Earth's past, including the evolution of global temperature and carbon dioxide levels and major climate transitions over tens of millions of years.
  • Mechanisms of abrupt (decadal to centennial) climate variability and their interactions with longer term (glacial-interglacial) changes in the Earth system.
  • Climate evolution over the past 1000 years and its implications for understanding decadal to centennial climate predictability
  • Changes to the Earth's cryosphere, especially ice on and around Antarctica
  • Quantifying how climate and geodynamic processes interact to create upland landscapes and how future changes to climate and vegetation affect these landscapes
  • The dynamics of meandering river systems and floodplains in relation to land use change, sediment flux, and climate
  • The role of airborne particles such as soot, volcanic ash, and dust in determining air quality and its relation to toxicity and human health
  • Strategies for carbon sequestration in soils in major construction projects, and carbon sequestration in the ocean
  • Impacts and adaptation of climate change on the integrated management of coastlines including in Wales and the Severn Estuary
  • Climate change, ocean acidification and the evolution of plankton in the oceans.

Research themes associated with the group include:

Lead researcher

Carrie Lear

Professor Carrie Lear

Professor in Earth Science

Email:
learc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9004

Academic staff

Dr Morten Andersen

Lecturer

Email:
andersenm1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4943

Dr Rhoda Ballinger

Senior Lecturer

Email:
ballingerrc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6671
Stephen Barker

Professor Stephen Barker

Professor in Earth Science

Email:
barkers3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4328
Claire Earlie

Dr Claire Earlie

Lecturer in Coastal Processes

Email:
earliec@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5563

Dr T.C. Hales

Senior Lecturer

Email:
halest@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4329
Ian Hall

Professor Ian Hall

Head of School, Earth and Ocean Sciences
Research Professor

Email:
hall@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5612 / +44 (0)29 2087 6689
Tim Jones

Dr Tim Jones

Reader in Earth Sciences

Email:
jonestp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4924

Dr Jenny Pike

Deputy Head of School and Reader

Email:
pikej@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5181
Jing Ran

Dr Jing Ran

Research Associate

Email:
ranj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2251 0063
Phil Renforth

Dr Phil Renforth

Lecturer

Email:
renforthp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9672
David Raynolds

Dr David Reynolds

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Email:
reynoldsd3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 0188
Michael Singer

Dr Michael Singer

Lecturer in Physical Geography

Email:
singerm2@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6257