Centre for Health and Social Care Law

The Centre exists to promote research and its dissemination in the field of Health and Social Care Law.

On 24 June 2016, the Centre organised a public conference on ‘Mental health, learning disability and social care: protecting human rights in the austerity crisis.’ You can read about the speakers and discussions on the Cardiff University Mental Health Blog.

The Centre also supports the Children’s Social Care Law in Wales website.

Follow us on Twitter @CHSCLaw.

Aims

  • To promote research and teaching on the socio-legal aspects of health and social care;
  • To provide mutual peer support, mentoring and feedback on research-related activities, including writing articles and research grant proposals;
  • To support the work of pro bono clinics working on health and social care related projects;
  • To organise internal events relating to current research and topical themes in health and social care;
  • To organise public events, and involve external organisations in internal events, to foster public engagement and impact related activities in health and social care;
  • To contribute towards the selection of internal and external speakers in the LAWPL seminar series.

Members of the Centre have a range of research interests in:

  • medical law and ethics;
  • mental health;
  • disability;
  • additional learning needs;
  • human rights;
  • social care for adults and children.

Some of the current projects our members are involved in are listed here:

  • Ethical Judgments: Re-Writing Medical Law
    This edited collection explores what would happen if judges were required to be ethically consistent when they make decisions in ‘hard’ medico-legal decisions as well as adhering to legal validity. Nine important cases are re-interpreted in the collection – first by two academics acting as judges and then by two additional academics acting as legal and ethical commentators on the revised judgments. The collection is edited by Stephen W Smith, Senior Lecturer in Medical Law and Ethics, along with colleagues from the Universities of Birmingham, Bristol, Leicester and Strathclyde. In addition, Professors Nicky Priaulx and John Harrington have provided commentaries in the collection.
  • Transparency in Family Courts
    Evaluating the responses to, and effects of, judicial guidance on publishing family court judgments involving children and young people

Director

Academic staff

Julie Doughty

Dr Julie Doughty

Lecturer in Law

Email:
doughtyj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4342
Annette Morris

Annette Morris

Reader in Law and Director of Postgraduate Research

Email:
morrisa7@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4580

Dr Bernadette Rainey

Senior Lecturer in Law

Email:
raineyba@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5365
Huw Pritchard

Dr Huw Pritchard

Lecturer in Law

Welsh speaking
Email:
pritchardh3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4355
Jason Tucker

Professor Jason Tucker

Professor

Email:
tuckerjm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 0966

Professor John Harrington

Professor of Law

Email:
harringtonj3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4098
Lydia Hayes

Dr Lydia Hayes

Reader in Law

Email:
hayesl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9669

Professor Nicolette Priaulx

Professor of Law

Email:
priaulxn@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5869
Pauline Roberts

Pauline Roberts

Senior Lecturer in Law

Email:
robertspi@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5108
Richard Caddell

Dr Richard Caddell

Lecturer in Law

Email:
caddellr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5098
Sharon Thompson

Dr Sharon Thompson

Senior Lecturer in Law

Email:
thompsons20@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4362
Tom Hayes

Dr Thomas Hayes

Lecturer in Law

Email:
hayestp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 6101
William Seagrim

William Seagrim

Lecturer

Welsh speaking
Email:
seagrimw1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 6969

Professor Mervyn Arthur Murch

Emeritus Professor

Email:
murchma@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4980
Dr Katherine Shelton

Dr Katherine Shelton

Reader

Email:
sheltonkh1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 6093

Dr Emily Kakoullis

Lecturer in Law

Email:
kakoullise@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5082

Dr Lucy Series

Lecturer

Email:
seriesl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4238
Stephen Smith

Dr Stephen Smith

Senior Lecturer in Law

Email:
smiths55@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2088 8714
Roxanna Dehaghani

Dr Roxanna Dehaghani

Lecturer

Email:
fatemi-dehaghanir@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5447

Postgraduate students

Derek Tilley

Research student

Email:
tilleyd1@cardiff.ac.uk

Alison Tarrant

Research student

Email:
tarrantae2@cardiff.ac.uk

Helen Taylor

Research student

Email:
taylorh16@cardiff.ac.uk
LinkDescription
Reviews into deaths of vulnerable adultsAmanda Robinson, Alyson Rees and Roxanna Dehaghani explain what can be learned from recent practice reviews that took place after the sudden death of a vulnerable adult, and how future reviews could be improved.
The wellbeing of new adoptive familiesKatherine Shelton and Julie Doughty discuss their research on the adoption of children in care, and the factors that help adoptive families flourish.
Transparency in the family courtsSharon Thompson interviews Julie Doughty about transparency, open justice and privacy in family courts.
Paid care work, labour deregulation and private business: Lessons from the UKLydia Hayes lecture to RMIT University, 20 June 2018