Centre for Health and Social Care Law

The Centre exists to promote research and its dissemination in the field of Health and Social Care Law.

On 24 June 2016, the Centre organised a public conference on ‘Mental health, learning disability and social care: protecting human rights in the austerity crisis.’ You can read about the speakers and discussions on the Cardiff University Mental Health Blog.

The Centre also supports the Children’s Social Care Law in Wales website.

Follow us on Twitter @CHSCLaw.

Aims

  • To promote research and teaching on the socio-legal aspects of health and social care;
  • To provide mutual peer support, mentoring and feedback on research-related activities, including writing articles and research grant proposals;
  • To support the work of pro bono clinics working on health and social care related projects;
  • To organise internal events relating to current research and topical themes in health and social care;
  • To organise public events, and involve external organisations in internal events, to foster public engagement and impact related activities in health and social care;
  • To contribute towards the selection of internal and external speakers in the LAWPL seminar series.

Members of the Centre have a range of research interests in:

  • medical law and ethics;
  • mental health;
  • disability;
  • additional learning needs;
  • human rights;
  • social care for adults and children.

Some of the current projects our members are involved in are listed here:

  • Ethical Judgments: Re-Writing Medical Law
    This edited collection explores what would happen if judges were required to be ethically consistent when they make decisions in ‘hard’ medico-legal decisions as well as adhering to legal validity. Nine important cases are re-interpreted in the collection – first by two academics acting as judges and then by two additional academics acting as legal and ethical commentators on the revised judgments. The collection is edited by Stephen W Smith, Senior Lecturer in Medical Law and Ethics, along with colleagues from the Universities of Birmingham, Bristol, Leicester and Strathclyde. In addition, Professors Nicky Priaulx and John Harrington have provided commentaries in the collection.
  • Transparency in Family Courts
    Evaluating the responses to, and effects of, judicial guidance on publishing family court judgments involving children and young people

Director

Professor Philip Fennell

Professor of Law

Email:
fennell@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4344

Academic staff

Richard Caddell

Dr Richard Caddell

Lecturer in Law

Email:
caddellr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4152
Julie Doughty

Dr Julie Doughty

Lecturer in Law

Email:
doughtyj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4342

Professor John Harrington

Professor of Law

Email:
harringtonj3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4098
Lydia Hayes

Dr Lydia Hayes

Lecturer in Law

Email:
hayesl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 9669
Tom Hayes

Dr Thomas Hayes

Lecturer in Law

Email:
hayestp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 6101

Dr Emily Kakoullis

Lecturer in Law

Email:
kakoullise@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5082
Annette Morris

Annette Morris

Reader in Law

Email:
morrisa7@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4580

Professor Mervyn Arthur Murch

Emeritus Professor

Email:
murchma@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4980

Professor Nicolette Priaulx

Professor of Law

Email:
priaulxn@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5869
Huw Pritchard

Dr Huw Pritchard

Lecturer in Law

Email:
pritchardh3@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4355

Dr Bernadette Rainey

Senior Lecturer in Law

Email:
raineyba@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5365
Pauline Roberts

Pauline Roberts

Senior Lecturer in Law

Email:
robertspi@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5108
William Seagrim

William Seagrim

Lecturer

Email:
seagrimw1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 6969

Dr Lucy Series

Research Associate

Email:
seriesl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4342

Dr Katherine Shelton

Senior Lecturer

Email:
sheltonkh1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 6093
Stephen Smith

Dr Stephen Smith

Senior Lecturer in Law

Email:
smiths55@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2088 8714

Professor Keith Syrett

Professor of Law

Email:
syrettk@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 5098
Sharon Thompson

Dr Sharon Thompson

Senior Lecturer in Law

Email:
thompsons20@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4362
Jason Tucker

Professor Jason Tucker

Professor

Email:
tuckerjm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 0966

Postgraduate students

Helen Taylor

Research student

Email:
taylorh16@cardiff.ac.uk
DateTitle
24 June 2016Mental health, learning disability and social care: protecting human rights in the austerity crisis
22 November 2016SciScreen ‘Intouchables’
5 December 2106SciScreen ‘Marvellous’
TBC 2017Celebrating the 30th Anniversary of the LLM in Legal Aspects of Medical Practice