Centre for Critical and Cultural Theory

We have a long and distinguished history as a field-leader. The first of its kind in the UK, and indeed one of the first anywhere in the world, this Centre was set up in 1989 to create an institutional space for teaching and research in the (then) emerging discipline of theory.

Founding members (Catherine Belsey, Christopher Norris, Terry Hawkes and Chris Weedon) wrote landmark works that contributed to shaping the field of critical and cultural theory as an area of teaching and research in the contemporary university.

Our current staff carry on this long-standing commitment to excellence and diversity in research, and continue to work at the forefront of pioneering research in critical and cultural theory.

We have a strong international reputation for pioneering research into the work of French thinkers such as Louis Althusser, Roland Barthes, Jacques Derrida, Michel Foucault, Jacques Lacan, Gilles Deleuze and Hélène Cixous.

Our staff work in many intersections of the literary, critical, cultural, media and digital, from Continental Thought (poststructuralism, postmodernity, German aesthetics, Frankfurt School) to areas at the crossroads between history, culture and place (postcolonialism, gender and race, cultural history, trauma and memory studies), to a wide range of up-to-date issues relating to the contemporary world (posthumanism, globalisation, digital theory and culture, game studies, and eco-humanities).

We welcome PhD applications in staff specialist areas, such as the following:

  • Critical Marxism
  • Cultural history
  • Deconstruction
  • Deleuze studies
  • Digital theory and game studies
  • Eco-humanities
  • Gender, sexuality and race
  • German aesthetics and Frankfurt School
  • Postcolonialism, Nation and culture
  • Posthumanism
  • Postmodernism
  • Poststructuralism
  • Theories of the literary
  • Trauma and memory studies

Chair

Laurent Milesi

Dr Laurent Milesi

Reader

Email:
milesi@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6119

Academic staff

Professor Neil Badmington

Professor

Email:
badmington@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6255
Ann Heilmann

Professor Ann Heilmann

Professor

Email:
heilmanna@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5619
Martin Kayman

Professor Martin A Kayman

Professor

Email:
kaymanm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5971

Professor Radhika Mohanram

Professor, English and Critical and Cultural Theory

Email:
mohanramr1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6151
Jane Moore

Dr Jane Moore

Reader

Email:
moorejv@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5669

Dr Irene Morra

Reader

Email:
morrai@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5662
Chris Norris

Professor Christopher Norris

Distinguished Research Professor

Email:
norrisc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5412
Carl Phelpstead

Professor Carl Phelpstead

Professor

Email:
phelpsteadc@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4245

Professor Carl Plasa

Professor

Email:
plasa@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 5013
Josh Robinson

Dr Josh Robinson

Lecturer

Email:
robinsonj17@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6740

Dr Peter Sedgwick

Reader

Email:
sedgwick@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6075
Aidan Tynan

Dr Aidan Tynan

Lecturer

Email:
tynana@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 7239