Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Prof Stephen Denyer  -  BSc PhD FRPharmS

Staff Photo
Position:Professor of Pharmacy

Telephone:+44 (0)29 208 70131


Professor Stephen Denyer graduated Bachelor of Pharmacy (1975) with First Class Honours from the University of Nottingham where he also obtained his PhD (1979).

Research Interests

Stephen Denyer’s research interests are directed towards clinical application and include: microbial pathogenicity and medical device infection; microbial detection; antimicrobial systems; and the design of new biocompatible biomaterials for restorative surgery.  His research, which frequently includes collaborating partners, has been funded by grants and sponsorship in excess of £13m, with more than £5m in his own research group which, over the years, has supported the work of some 49 postgraduate students and 25 postdoctoral researchers.  He has published over 175 research articles, including papers, reviews and invited chapters, and has co-edited eight books.  He serves on the editorial advisory board for three scientific journals.  Professor Denyer’s contributions to pharmaceutical science have been recognised in a number of awards and distinctions, including the British Pharmaceutical Conference Science Chairmanship in 2002.

Member of the School's Drug Delivery & Microbiology Research Discipline

Career Profile

Stephen Denyer joined the staff of Nottingham School of Pharmacy in 1979 as Lecturer in Pharmaceutical Microbiology.  In 1991, he moved to Head the Department (now School) of Pharmacy at the University of Brighton as Professor of Pharmaceutical and Applied Microbiology.  Professor Denyer departed from Brighton in 2003 to become Head of the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at Cardiff University.  He resigned from this post upon his appointment as Deputy Pro Vice-Chancellor for Education and Students from 1st August 2010; he now holds the position of University Dean for Academic Quality.  Professor Denyer was elected Fellow of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society in 2000, was recipient of the Society’s Charter Gold Award for contributions to the profession in 2003, and was awarded Faculty Fellowship in 2013.

Scientific Service

Professor Denyer has contributed to a number of national bodies.  He has been a Microbiology Advisor to the UK Medical Devices Agency (1993 – 2000), is an expert assessor on active implantable medical devices (1993 – to date) and is a microbiology expert on the BP Commission (2003 – to date) and on a European Pharmacopoeia Working Party (2006 – to date).  He has served on the Veterinary Products Committee (1989 – 1993) and, until recently, was a member of the MHRA sub-committee for Pharmacy, Chemistry and Standards (1999 – 2007).  He also serves on research council referee panels, and until recently was a member o f the EPSRU Life Sciences College and an independent expert for the Welsh Office of Research & Development.  Professor Denyer is Deputy Chair of the Public Health England Rapid Review Panel on novel infection control agents and, until its conclusion in 2011, chaired the Industrial sub-committee of the NHS Engineering and Science Advisory Committee on prion decontamination.

Professional Service

In the education and pharmacy professions, Professor Denyer has served as a Quality Assurance Agency  assessor for pharmacy education (1998 – 2000), was a member of the QAA Pharmacy Benchmarking Group (2000 – 2002) and is now an Institutional Reviewer.  He has participated in many RPSGB working groups including those developing the 4-year degree programme and reviewing the degree accreditation process.  He has twice served on the RPSGB Science Committee (1995 – 1999 and 2000 – 2008 – latterly as Chair) and has been a member of the Education Committee (now Pharmacy School Council) and has served on the Pharmacy Regulator’s Accreditation Panel for 16 years, now as UK Team Leader.  He has acted as external examiner to undergraduate and postgraduate degree programmes in the UK and for PhD research degrees.  Professor Denyer was the Pharmacy Schools elected member on the RPSGB Council (2005 – 2008).