Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Time-Line of the Welsh School of Pharmacy 2010 to date

Up to 1959

1960 - 1978

 1978 - date 



Professor Stephen Denyer is appointed Deputy Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education & Students and is succeeded as Head of School by Professor Gary Baxter.

Professor Chris McGuigan is appointed Deputy Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research and is chair of the University's REF Committee.

Initial approval given for the 2 + 2 MPharm degree offered jointly with Taylor's University College in Malaysia and the first students are recruited.


The new GMP suite is commissioned and used for student classes.

The name of the school is officially changed to the "Cardiff School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences".



Professor Paul Spencer's (HoS 1978-1997) funeral on July 29th 

Establishment of the College of Biomedical & Life Science, comprising the School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences together with Biosciences, Dentistry, Healthcare Sciences, Medicine, Optometry & Vision Sciences, and Pscychology



The 'New' Lecture Theatre is re-named in honour of the late Paul Spencer, (HoS 1978-1997), who died in 2012.