Equality and diversity

We are committed to ensuring equality and diversity in all of our activities.

The School has its own Equality and Diversity Committee, which encompasses representation from across the School. Membership of the School’s Equality and Diversity committee is as follows:

Mrs Anna Taylor, School Manager (Chair)
Professor Marcela Votruba, Head of School
Dr Kirsten Hamilton-Maxwell, Lecturer, Teaching & Scholarship (Deputy Chair)
Professor Keith Meek, Head of Biophysics Research Group
Mr Lee McIlreavy, Lecturer, Teaching & Research
Dr Bablin Molik, Research Associate and Teacher
Dr Lydia Harper, external representative
Mr Jon Baston, Professional Optometrist
Ms Fliss Brooks, HR Advisor
Mrs Judith Colwill, support services representative

The committee meets 4 times per year to co-ordinate, manage and review the actions required to support Equality and Diversity policy and initiatives relating to both staff and student issues in liaison with the Equality Managers in Governance and Compliance and Human Resources.

The University holds the Athena SWAN Bronze award, and the School of Optometry and Vision Sciences also holds the Athena SWAN Bronze award. The School has held Athena Swan status since 2010. Further information can be found on the School’s Athena Swan webpage.

If you have a query relating to the School’s Equality and Diversity work, please contact Anna Taylor on 029 20 874694 or at TaylorA30@Cardiff.ac.uk.