Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Cardiff University recognises outstanding individuals with Honorary Fellowships

07 July 2008

A Welsh rugby great, the writer responsible for spearheading the revival of Dr Who and the founder of a hospital in Somalia are amongst those to be honoured by Cardiff University at its annual degree ceremonies (July 8, 9, 14, 15 and 16).

Honorary Fellowships are awarded to individuals who have achieved international distinction in their field.

The Honorary Fellows for 2008 are:

Professor John Andrews CBE, an academic lawyer who has made significant contributions to higher education and the legal profession. (Ceremony: 8 July 10.30am)

Lord Aberdare, Alastair Bruce is the 5th Baron Aberdare of Duffryn. He is one of two executive Directors of ProbusBNW Limited, a corporate reputation consultancy. He is a former Trustee of the National Botanic Garden of Wales, and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and the Royal Geographical Society. (Ceremony: 15 July 4.30pm)

Mr Gerald Davies CBE is one of the acknowledged greats of Welsh rugby. He has enjoyed a distinguished career in rugby union football, representing Wales, the British and Irish Lions, and Cardiff and London Welsh. (Ceremony: 15 July 10.30am)

Mr Russell T Davies OBE is an acclaimed Welsh television producer and writer. He is best known for spearheading the revival of the popular science-fiction television series Dr Who, and for creating its spin-off series Torchwood. (Ceremony: 14 July 10.30pm)

Mrs Edna Adan Ismail is the founder of the Edna Adan Hospital in Hargeysa, Somaliland. She has a national and international leadership role in improving health care in Africa and the Eastern Mediterranean Region and was the first qualified nurse/midwife in Somalia. (Ceremony: 8 July 1.30pm)

Margaret McCarter Jervis is the Cardiff University People’s Fellow, an award bestowed as part of our 125th anniversary celebrations on an outstanding member of the south Wales community. She is the founder and operational director of Valleys Kids, a charitable community development organisation that empowers people to achieve their own potential and develop their skills and knowledge. (Ceremony: 14 July 4.30pm)

Professor Júlio Domingos Pedrosa da Luz de Jesus is Professor of Chemistry at the University of Aveiro, Portugal. He gained his PhD at Cardiff University in 1978 and has maintained and developed collaborative novel lines of research with the Cardiff School of Chemistry. (Ceremony: 9 July 10.30am)

Professor M W (Wyn) Roberts is an Honorary Research Professor with Cardiff University’s School of Chemistry. He was Head of the School from 1988-97 and Vice-Principal of the University from 1989-92. He is recognised internationally for his outstanding contribution to surface chemistry and catalysis. (Ceremony: 9 July 10.30am)

Ms Carol Vorderman MBE is a television personality best known as the long-standing co-presenter of the Channel 4 game show Countdown. In addition to her broadcasting roles, she is the patron of the Cleft Lip and Palate Association. (Ceremony: 15 July 1.30pm)

Mr Gerard Walsh is the Director of Elision Group Ltd, and Chair and Founder of the ARKAGA Trust, London. In partnership with the University he recently launched the first Cochrane Chair in Public Health, a Professorial post which will have national and international healthcare and public health policy impact. (Ceremony: 9 July 1.30pm)

Justice John Griffith Williams QC is a Justice of the High Court assigned to the Queen’s Bench Division. He has held a number of senior roles in the judicial system, including Senior Circuit Judge and Honorary Recorder of Cardiff. He was awarded a Knighthood in 2007 on his appointment as a Justice of the High Court. (Ceremony: 14 July 1.30pm)

Professor Sir Roger Williams has held a number of senior appointments in the Higher Education sector, most notably as Vice-Chancellor of the University of Reading from 1993 to 2002. He was awarded a Knighthood in 2006 in recognition of his services to the sector. (Ceremony: 16 July 1.30pm)

Professor Zhu Chongshi is the President of Xiamen University, China, with which Cardiff has close academic links. He is a Professor of Law and Economics and a renowned Chinese banking legal scholar. (Ceremony: 16 July 4.30pm)


Notes to Editors:

1. Full biographies and photographs of the honorary fellows can be obtained from the Public Relations Office: 029 2087 9074. Further graduation details can be found:

2. Cardiff University

Cardiff University is recognised in independent government assessments as one of Britain’s leading teaching and research universities. It is also ranked as one of the world’s top 100 universities by the Times Higher Education Supplement (THES).

2008 marks the 125th anniversary of Cardiff University having been founded by Royal Charter in 1883. Today the University combines impressive modern facilities and a dynamic approach to teaching and research. The University’s breadth of expertise in research and research-led teaching encompasses: the humanities; the natural, physical, health, life and social sciences; engineering and technology; preparation for a wide range of professions; and a longstanding commitment to lifelong learning.

Cardiff is a member of the Russell Group of the UK’s leading research universities.

Visit the University website at:

Further Information:

Victoria Dando

Public Relations Office

Cardiff University


Tel: 02920 879074