Research staff

Meet the directors and resident researchers within the Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute.

Directors

Professor Jeremy Hall

Professor Jeremy Hall

Director and Research Theme Lead, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
hallj10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0) 29 20 688 342
Mike_Owen_2016

Professor Michael Owen

Director of MRC Centre for Neuropsychiatric Genetics and Genomics; Director/Clinical Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neuroscience and Emeritus Director of the Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
owenmj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0) 29 2068 8320
Professor Adrian Harwood

Professor Adrian Harwood

Co-Director of Research, Co-Director of the Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
harwoodaj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2068 8492
Professor Lawrence Wilkinson

Professor Lawrence Wilkinson

Scientific Director, Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute.

Email:
wilkinsonl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2068 8461
An image of Professor David Linden

Professor David Linden

Clinical Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
lindend@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8328

Resident researchers

Professor John Aggleton

Professor John Aggleton

Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience

Email:
aggleton@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4563

Professor Nick Allen

Professor, School of Biosciences

Email:
allennd@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6196
Dr Alsaqati

Dr Mouhamed Alsaqati

Research Associate, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
alsaqatim@cardiff.ac.uk
Dr Riccardo Brambilla

Professor Riccardo Brambilla

Professor, Neuroscience Degree Co-ordinator

Email:
brambillar@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6807
An image of Anne Campbell

Anne Campbell

PhD Student

Email:
campbellae1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 0470
Nicholas Clifton

Nicholas Clifton

Early Career Research Fellow, Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
cliftonne@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8337

Professor Vincenzo Crunelli

Professor

Email:
crunelli@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4091
An image of genetic councillor Andrew Cuthbert

Dr Andrew Cuthbert

Genetic Councillor, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
cuthberta@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8545

Dr Adam Errington

Research Fellow, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
erringtonac@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8343
Photograph of Dr Stefania Fasano

Dr Stefania Fasano

Senior Research Fellow

Email:
fasanos@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29208 76807
Photograph of Hannah Furby

Dr Hannah Furby

Research Associate

Email:
furbyh1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4007
William Gray

Professor William Gray

Professor of Functional Neurosurgery, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
graywp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8491

Dr Matt Hill

Lecturer, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
hillm6@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8464
An image of Professor Derek Jones

Professor Derek Jones

Professor

Email:
jonesd27@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 9412
An image of Professor Meng Li

Professor Meng Li

Chair in Stem Cell Neurobiology, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
lim26@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2068 8345
An image of Professor David Linden

Professor David Linden

Professor of Translational Neuroscience

Email:
lindend@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 6785
An image of Research Fellow Stefanie Linden

Dr Stefanie Linden

Clinical Lecturer, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
lindens@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 29 2068 8337
A photo of Rebecca McKavanagh

Rebecca McKavanagh

Research Fellow - The Waterloo Fellowship, 'In memory of Barbara Green'.

Email:
mckavanaghr@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8188
Anne Rosser

Professor Anne Rosser

Professor of Clinical Neuroscience, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
rosserae@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6654
An image of Professor Frank Sengpiel

Professor Frank Sengpiel

Head of Neuroscience Division, Professor of Neuroscience

Email:
sengpielf@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2087 5698
Dr Eunju Jenny Shin profile image

Dr Eunju Jenny Shin

Lecturer, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
shine@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8332
An image of Jessica Steventon

Jessica Steventon

Research Fellow - The Waterloo Fellowship 'In memory of A. Bruce Naylor

Email:
steventonjj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 0355

Dr Yasir Ahmed Syed

CMU Research Fellow

Email:
syedy@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8314
Image of Wellcome Trust PhD Researcher Lucy Sykes

Lucy Sykes

Wellcome Trust PhD Researcher

Email:
sykeslh@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8338
Dr Kerrie Thomas

Dr Kerrie Thomas

Director of Postgraduate Studies, Reader

Email:
thomaskl5@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8344
Nichola Brydges

Dr Nichola Thuvesholmen

Research Fellow, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
brydgesn@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 208 8339

Simon Trent

Research Associate

Email:
trents@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8347
Professor Stephanie van Goozen

Professor Stephanie van Goozen

Professor

Email:
vangoozens@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4630
A photo of professor Julie Williams

Professor Julie Williams

Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
williamsj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2068 8326
Emma Yhnell

Dr Emma Yhnell

Health and Care Research Wales Fellow

Email:
yhnelle@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8456

We also have affiliated members who are based with the Schools of Biosciences, Psychology and Optometry.