Research staff

Meet the directors and resident researchers within the Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute.

Directors

Professor Jeremy Hall

Professor Jeremy Hall

Director and Research Theme Lead, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
hallj10@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0) 29 20 688 342
Mike_Owen_2016

Professor Sir Michael Owen

Director of MRC Centre for Neuropsychiatric Genetics and Genomics; Director/Clinical Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neuroscience and Emeritus Director of the Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
owenmj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0) 29 2068 8320
Professor Adrian Harwood

Professor Adrian Harwood

Co-Director of Research, Co-Director of the Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
harwoodaj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2068 8492
Professor Lawrence Wilkinson

Professor Lawrence Wilkinson

Scientific Director, Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute.

Email:
wilkinsonl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2068 8461
An image of Professor David Linden

Professor David Linden

Clinical Professor, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
lindend@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8328

Resident researchers

Dr Alsaqati

Dr Mouhamed Alsaqati

Research Associate, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
alsaqatim@cardiff.ac.uk
Caroline Best

Caroline Best

Senior Technician, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
bestc1@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2062 0257
Dr Riccardo Brambilla

Professor Riccardo Brambilla

Professor, Neuroscience Degree Co-ordinator

Email:
brambillar@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6807

Jennifer Carter

Technician, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
carterj16@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2067 1397
Nicholas Clifton

Nicholas Clifton

Early Career Research Fellow, Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
cliftonne@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8337

Professor Vincenzo Crunelli

Professor

Email:
crunelli@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 4091
An image of genetic councillor Andrew Cuthbert

Dr Andrew Cuthbert

Genetic Councillor, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
cuthberta@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8545
Katie_Daughters

Katie Daughters

Research Assistant, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
daughterskl@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8338

Dr Adam Errington

Research Fellow, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
erringtonac@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8343
Photograph of Dr Stefania Fasano

Dr Stefania Fasano

Senior Research Fellow

Email:
fasanos@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29208 76807
Lucia Cardo 2

Dr Lucia Fernandez Cardo

Research Associate, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
cardolf@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 208 8346

Marija Fjodorova

Research Associate, Neuroscience & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
fodorovam@cardiff.ac.uk

Patricia Gasalla Canto

Research Associate, Neuroscience & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
gasallacantop@cardiff.ac.uk
William Gray

Professor William Gray

Professor of Functional Neurosurgery, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
graywp@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8491
Niels Haan, Research Associate at NMHRI

Dr Niels Haan

Research Associate, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
haann@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8590

Dr Matt Hill

Lecturer, Dementia Research Institute

Email:
hillm6@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8464
An image of Professor Derek Jones

Professor Derek Jones

Professor

Email:
jonesd27@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 9412

Bridget-Ann Kenny

Research Assistant, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
kennyb@cardiff.ac.uk
An image of Professor Meng Li

Professor Meng Li

Chair in Stem Cell Neurobiology, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
lim26@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2068 8345

Esther Lin

Research Assistant, Neurosciences and Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
lint1@cardiff.ac.uk
An image of Professor David Linden

Professor David Linden

Professor of Translational Neuroscience

Email:
lindend@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 6785

Ilaria Morella

Research Assistant, Neuroscience & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
morellai@cardiff.ac.uk

Zoe Noakes

Research Associate, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
noakesz@cardiff.ac.uk

Dr Kathryn Peall

Clinical Senior Lecturer, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
peallkj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8338

Olena Petter

Senior Technician, Neuroscience & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
pettero@cardiff.ac.uk

William Plumbly

Research Assistant, Neuroscience & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
plumblyw1@cardiff.ac.uk
Photograph of Dr Aled Rees

Dr Aled Rees

Reader, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
reesda@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2074 5002
Anne Rosser

Professor Anne Rosser

Professor of Clinical Neuroscience, Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences

Email:
rosserae@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2087 6654
An image of Professor Frank Sengpiel

Professor Frank Sengpiel

Head of Neuroscience Division, Professor of Neuroscience

Email:
sengpielf@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2087 5698
Dr Eunju Jenny Shin profile image

Dr Eunju Jenny Shin

Lecturer, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
shine@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8332
An image of Jessica Steventon

Jessica Steventon

Research Fellow - The Waterloo Fellowship 'In memory of A. Bruce Naylor

Email:
steventonjj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 0355

Dr Yasir Ahmed Syed

CMU Research Fellow

Email:
syedy@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8314
Claudia Tamburini

Claudia Tamburini

Research Technician, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
tamburinic@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8129
Dr Kerrie Thomas

Dr Kerrie Thomas

Director of Postgraduate Education, Reader

Email:
thomaskl5@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8344
Nichola Brydges

Dr Nichola Thuvesholmen

Research Fellow, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
brydgesn@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 208 8339

Cezar Tigaret

Research Associate, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institiute

Email:
tigaretc@cardiff.ac.uk

Simon Trent

Research Associate

Email:
trents@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8347
Professor Stephanie van Goozen

Professor Stephanie van Goozen

Professor

Email:
vangoozens@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0)29 2087 4630
Holly Watkin

Holly Watkin

Technician, Neuroscience & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
watkinh1@cardiff.ac.uk
Westacott

Laura Westacott

Research Assistant, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
westacottlj@cardiff.ac.uk
A photo of professor Julie Williams

Professor Julie Williams

Director, Dementia Research Institute

Email:
williamsj@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44(0) 29 2068 8326
Dr Emma Yhnell

Dr Emma Yhnell

Health and Care Research Wales Fellow

Email:
yhnelle@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 (0)29 2068 8456
Malik Zaben

Dr Malik Zaben

Lecturer, Neurosciences & Mental Health Research Institute

Email:
zabenm@cardiff.ac.uk
Telephone:
+44 02920 688 333

We also have affiliated members who are based with the Schools of Biosciences, Psychology and Optometry.