Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu

School Diary

To submit a new event for the school diary please use the following form or email mathswebteam@cf.ac.uk

November 2014

Monday 17th November

14:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Christoph Fischbacher (Kent). Title: On the spectrum of the XXZ spin chain.

Tuesday 18th November

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Robert Style (University of Oxford). Title: The mechanics of soft solids - breaking classical laws.

Wednesday 19th November

15:15: Postgraduate Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Edd Lewis(Cardiff). Title: On Solving Linear Systems Efficiently.

Thursday 20th November

12:10: Operational Research and Statistics Seminar: Room: M/2.01
Speaker: Dr Vadim Lozin (Warwick). Title: Combinatorics and algorithms for augmenting graphs.

15:10: Mathematical Physics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Shahn Majid (Queen Mary, London). Title: Semiquantisation functor and Poisson-Riemannian geometry.

Monday 24th November

14:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Lauri Oksanen (UCL). Title: TBC.

Tuesday 25th November

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Xuesong Wu (Imperial College London). Title: Nonlinear development of disturbances in transitional and turbulent free shear flows .

Wednesday 26th November

PG Open Day

15:10: Mathematics Colloquium: Room: E/0.15
Speaker:
Prof. Olavi Nevanlinna (Aalto). Title: Multicentric calculus: polynomial as a new variable.

Thursday 27th November

15:10: Mathematical Physics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Andre Henriques (Oxford). Title: TBC.

December 2014

Monday 1st December

14:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Ian Wood (Kent). Title: TBC.

Tuesday 2nd December

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Matthias Heil (University of Manchester). Title: Wrinkly fingers: fluid-structure interaction in elastic-walled Hele-Shaw cells.

Wednesday 3rd December

15:15: Postgraduate Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Brad Hardy (Cardiff). Title: Introduction to Heuristic Methods.

Saturday 6th December

UCAS Open Day

Monday 8th December

14:10: Analysis Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Beatrice Pelloni (Reading). Title: TBC.

Wednesday 10th December

UCAS Open Day

15:15: Postgraduate Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Stephen Moore (Cardiff). Title: An Introduction to Group Theory.

Friday 12th December

Last day of lectures before Christmas Break

Wednesday 24th December - Sunday January 4th 2015

Christmas Closure Period (University Closed)

January 2015

No entries at this time

February 2015

Tuesday 3rd February

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Helen Wilson (University College London). Title: Instabilities in viscoelastic fluids.

Wednesday 4th February

UCAS Open Day

Tuesday 10th February

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Dmitri Tseluiko (University of Loughborough). Title: TBC.

Tuesday 17th February

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: David Needham (University of Birmingham). Title: The evolution to localized and front solutions in a non-Lipschitz reaction-diffusion Cauchy problem with trivial initial data.

Wednesday 18th February

UCAS Open Day

12:10: Operational Research and Statistics Seminar: Room: TBC
Speaker: Christian Henning (UCL). Title: TBC.

Saturday 28th February

UCAS Open Day

March 2015

Wednesday 11th March

UCAS Open Day

Tuesday 17th March

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Paul Milewski (University of Bath). Title: Modelling and computation of pilot wave-bouncing droplet dynamics in a Faraday problem.

Tuesday 24th March

15:00: Applied Mathemathics Seminar: Room: M/2.06
Speaker: Draga Pihler-Puzovi (University of Manchester). Title: TBC.

April 2015

No entries at this time

May 2015

No entries at this time